#CLUB100 || PROSTHODONTICS: PART 3 || A VERY INTERESTING CASE TODAY || SETTING UP A CROWN (CAPPING) WITH TEMPRON || POLYMERIZATION REACTION || 18.1K SP

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 years ago (edited)

This is the part 3 of my prosthodontics rotation. Let's learn something, even if it's of atom's worth, it's still learning. I will soon start my Operative Dentistry posts as well. But that's a topic of a different day. In this post I will be blogging about something very interesting, Atleast it's interesting for me. Lets see whether y'all find in interesting as well or not.


IMG_20220131_012528.jpg


A patient walks in the OPD, tired and frustrated already, as in government OPDs the staff members torture you alot. Be it a patient or a doctor, the staff is the real authority there. A patient walks in after getting his appointment which he took 15 days ago. Imagine the frustration he is in. Living for 15 days without teeth in his mouth.


Anyway, the patient is asked to rest on the chair. Upon diagnosis, he is found to be missing Lower 5 and 6. Which means Mandibular Pre molar and the First Molar. On his report we see that he had his Root Canal Treatment (RCT) recently and the doctor did not cap his tooth (put a crown).

The first thing we make sure is to provide the patient comfort and to solve his problem as soon as possible. With a missing tooth, the first approach is to place a Temporary Crown in that poor lad's mouth as a permanent tooth would take a further 15-20 days of processing. There are perks and cons of getting yourself treated in Government institutes. Perk being, the process is comparatively way way cheaper than private clinics ofcourse. The con is the waiting that you have to do for getting basic treatment.

Working in Government OPD I don't blame the system completely. On a daily basis each dentist in the OPD gets atleast 3-4 patients on an average. We are 4 doctors in the OPD wuth a daily influx of over 40 patients per day. It's not possible humanely. Yes what we could do is to provide the people with more Government OPDs.


Moving back to the topic, I observed that the flora of his mouth wasn't good. There were caries all over his teeth with plaque as well. One thing was clear that this guy didn't take good care of his teeth.


IMG_20220131_012550.jpg
teeth we will work on


The first step is always to decontaminate the surrounding and to wipe away any moisture or salvia in the mouth. After that I picked up a burr which is basically attached to a hand piece and is used to carve the tooth in shape. The drying of the mouth is done by placing cotton buds inside the subject's mouth.


IMG_20220129_125326.jpgIMG_20220129_122312.jpg

The patient was told to press the cotton tightly in his mouth to dry it while I worked on making the Tempory Crown. I had a senior doctor with me whi was guiding me step by step to be perfect

The process of making the restorative material actually brought me back to my theoretical subject which I didn't pay much heed to. But since now I was working practically, I realized the importance of learning the theory. But still, to be very very honest, practical working is nothing like the theory. The books always indicate us the ideal ratios and readings which is humanly not possible

Anyway, for making the material which is called the acrylic we had to mix up two things. The polymer ie, Polymethylmethacrylate and the monomer ie, Methylmethacrylate. The polymer is present in a powdered form while the monomer is liquid as well as volatile. The ratio between the polymer and the monomer is 3:1
The final product would be acrylic


IMG_20220129_122439.jpgIMG_20220129_122431.jpg

After mixing these two materials in the perfect ratio what we get is a solid material which is also a type of Acrylic. For acrylic you need to know that it comes in many forms and there are a lot of uses of Acrylic. Another important thing that I have to mention is that this polymer and monomer are self cure materials which means when they are mixed, they set together readily without the need of light as observed in light cured Materials. Sooo, anyway, we got Acrylic, which is temporary material from mixing these two.

IMG_20220129_122503.jpg


Now hear me out. This temporary crown that you see in this picture wasn't in this form. Rather it was manipulated by hand to get in this shape so that it would sit in the cavity perfectly. Also this crown is big in size and it would fit both 5 and 6 but we only need to restore the tooth number 5. A very important thing about acrylic is that it shrinks very very rapidly. This is one of the biggest disadvantages of using acrylic as a restorative material but it's other advantages overshadow this point.


So this big sized crown was placed inside the patient's mouth and it was fixed by me using my fingers. Fixation was done as we need to get the crown hard before we trim it off. In about 4 to 5 minutes the crown got hard. After that we plucked it out and sent it to the technician for trimming. Trimming a crown is a very technical work and quite honestly I can't do it so I left it to the expert.


IMG_20220129_125638.jpg


While the technician was trimming the crown for me, I took the impression of the patient's mouth. The impression was taken of both the arches, ie, Maxillary and Mandibular. The impression is taken to send it to the lab where the technicians will build a permanent crown for the patient. As you have read above what I made was the temporary crown. A temporary crown is necessary as it takes around 15-20 days for the permanent crown to be made. So, to ease the patient for that time, we fix a temporary crown.


IMG_20220129_125533.jpgIMG_20220129_124819.jpg

The blue colored impression is of the upper arch which was taken from Alginate while the yellow one is of the Mandibular Arch which was taken from silicone


After the trimming of the crown was done, I fixed the crown in the patient's mouth and it was fixed there PERFECTLY. The patient was then discharged and given an appointment of 15 days from now for his permanent crown fixation.


IMG_20220131_011911.jpg
look how perfect it is


I surely was one hapoy person after seeing this. The temporary crown had fixed perfectly inside his mouth.


Did you like this blog?

This is something that I like. Combining my two passions, ie, Dentistry and Steemit together. I have started with my Prosthodontics posts and very soon I will start with the Operative Dentistry which I ABSOLUTELY LOVE. Its all about fixing people's smile. Lets stay tuned.


Trying to get a GoPro.

With my practical life approaching and my working hours being increased inside the labs, I am desperately trying to get a GoPro which will let me post videos of complete process on steemit. It will be amazing for me and for all the readers who like to read my post.
Thank you.
@pennsif


And as always:


MY POWER UP COMMITMENT


IMG_20220203_231634.jpg

IMG_20220203_231517.jpg


OFFICIALLY REACHED 20,000 STEEM POWER


PAKISTAN'S FIRST 4X DOLPHIN


I have shown my dedication and commitment to this platform by building my account and my steem power in such a short period of time. I have the HIGHEST amount of SP for a Pakistani user as well as I am the first pakistani t4x dolphin on steemit. The commitment can be seen as I have been powering up 100% of my rewards for a very long time now.


As we step into 2022, I have big plans on steemit. Ofcourse none of this would have been possible without your support @steemcurator01. I'd continue posting quality content on this platform. I hope my commitment to powering up would help me in getting the much needed support.
Thank you.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I’m so glad that you’re finally enjoying it 👀😄

 3 years ago 

Look who's BACK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52