Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 months ago (edited)

Hello steemains I am really grateful for the opportunity to participate in this contest and I will try to write all I know concerning the contest.

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language and can your kids speak the language?

study-6684423_1280.webp
Source

My indigenous Language is igbo, Igbo as a language is a language that is mainly spoken by the eastern part of Nigeria that igbo tribe, the major states that speak this language are Imo, Enugu, Ebohyi, Anambara and Abia state. This language is not my countries official language,it is mainly spoken by the Igbo tribes. My countries official language is English. I do not have child because I am still young to get married but I will say that all my nuclear family members can speak Igbo, actually I was the first child among my brothers to learn how to speak Igbo. Igbo is a language that is really pleasing to the ears because of manner in which it is been spoken. Other languages that are also spoken by Nigerians are the "kanuri" which is spoken mainly in buronu state.

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

Some of my countries traditions are that we usually hold the new yam festival once every year and also that the citizens usually partake in voting process after every four years. There is also a tradition that the first male child inherites most of his father's property. In my country there is also an act that you must be up to or above the age of 21 before you can acquire a land.

dance-8085491_1280.webp
Source
You can preserve them orally by making sure you talk to the citizens to obey the traditions of the land and by also establishing a organization that will help advice the citizens on the importance of obeying the traditions of the land.

I will like to invite @chiagoziee, @josepha, @saintkelvin to participate in this contest.

Cc : @goodybest

Thanks for reading this publication !!!!!

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community

DescriptionInformation
Verified User✔️
Club Status#club5050
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free / AI Article Free
✔️
Bot Free✔️
Beneficiaries
* #burnsteem25
* Community
* Charity

null 25% ❌
steembetterlife ❌
worldsmile 10%❌

Appeal to community members:

  • Let's increase Steem Power (SP) to support each other by joining at least #club5050
  • Maintain the authenticity of your content to get greater support
  • Only use original photos or copyright-free images by linking the image source

Verified by @𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘢𝘥𝘪

Thanks for reviewing my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31