Goodybest's Story: A Day Of Women Economic Empowerment (Thurs. 22nd Aug.,2024)

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE16 days ago (edited)

1000120590.jpg

Can anything good come from our Government? Even if it does would a corrupt system and officials allow it to reach the poor masses? Oh no, these questions rang in my mind that morning, "Goodybest, do you really want to attend this empowerment event? Are you sure you won't be wasting your precious time?" Then another one was telling me "Oh dear you can, after all there's no harm in trying, if not for anything you will learn at least something that could add value to your life and you'll be opportune to get to meet and interact with new people"

I called my friend and reminded her of the event by 10 AM, and she agreed to go with me. I did some house chores and prepared breakfast before I showered and left for the event.

PSX_20240825_060415.jpg

The Event center, which was Ibom Hall, was crowded with women from different walks of life. I was lit by their site, I worked gorgeously, the air was buzzed with excitement, and this day became one of the days I will live to recall. Among the sea of women from all walks of life—teachers, entrepreneurs, farmers, fashion designers, and more—I felt a profound sense of unity and purpose.

PSX_20240825_052533.jpg

The venue was spacious, so the energy was palpable; people were allowed into the halls in groups so that they could register themselves. I waited patiently for my turn, and I used that time to explore the different agricultural produce some farmers brought to the event center. And I was particularly impressed with the chicken and decided to patronize the seller. Her prices were fair enough and I went for this 👇

1000118522.jpg

It cost 16,000 thousand Naira which is approximately 56 Steems.

In no time the organizers and sponsors of the empowerment arrived at the venue, which was in the person of Hon. Gift Johnbull and the Minister for Women Affairs. Everyone went into the Hall, and the stage was already set. The event began with the singing of our national anthem and a music presentation by Udo Mariam.

1000118446.jpg

Hon. Gift Johnbull (Senior Special Assistant To The President On Community Engagement|South South) took the stage, her voice resonating with passion about the importance of women's economic independence; she made us understand that the President of our Federation, in corroboration with the Secretary to the State Government sent her. They recognized women's contribution to the sustainability of our economy, so the government wants to help women earn from the soil to boost women entrepreneurs! Her words ignited a fire in the hearts of thousands, reminding us that together we can shatter glass ceilings and uplift one another.

My dear friend, Eliany, joined me with her little one, bundled up in a bright pink jumpsuit. Watching her running after her daughter in tow in the crowd gave me a new perspective on the empowerment we were advocating. It wasn’t just about us; it was about creating a better world for the generations to come!

1000118464.jpg

The chatter of excited women filled the room, mingling with the sound of heels clicking on the polished floor. Women were especially gingered by the minister of women's Affairs. She told women that we deserved all the good things the Government wanted to offer, and different bank reps were called to the stage, which included - reps from the World Bank, the Bank Of Agriculture, Zenith Bank, etc. I wandered to a booth where bank representatives shared insightful information about loans and funding for women-led businesses (they were all ready to give out loans with 1 figure interest percentage ranging from 1% -9%). It was inspiring to see established institutions taking notice of our needs and aspirations.

1000118487.jpg

As the afternoon transitioned into late afternoon, the air shifted to one of celebration. The traditional dancers took to the stage, and the atmosphere transformed into a lively cultural spectacle. Their rhythmic beats filled the hall; the young girls were so good at the dance, just like they didn't have a single bone on them, and soon, women were dancing joyfully, the vibrant colors of their traditional attire swirling around.

Laughter and cheers echoed as some women, even the organizers, joined in the dance. I felt liberated, and united with a thousand other women, all celebrating our strengths and dreams. The music was infectious, and even Eliany's little one hopped in place with delight, clapping her tiny hands to the beat.

PSX_20240825_052211.jpg

As the event drew to a close, I felt invigorated. Well, I don't know whether the Government will give the Grant as promised, but going back home, I reflected on all the inspiring talks shared today and the connections I made. This was more than an event; it was a catalyst for change, a step toward a brighter future for Akwaibomites women.

I left leaving energized, motivated, and grateful—ready to take on the world alongside my fellow empowered women. Today was a beautiful affirmation that we women are powerful agents of change!!!

Nothing much happened at home in the evening; I only took care of my kids and then slept over a post I finished the next day.

Sort:  

It sounds as if you made several new steps.. you started the Goodybest stories, you have the chicken and it sounds as if you are in more business soon. Great! Nothing as good as planning and working toward your future and remember: no matter how it goes is is always good for the Goody best Story Series (you could save them in your own community..

Good luck dear and a great start of the week.

Empowerment is a very good factor that can be used to eradicate the suffering of the less privileged and poor of the poor.
This was a nice experience you had.
How I wish I was a woman, what a Joy it would have been to me, participating in the program.
I really appreciate your support in the empowerment campaign

 16 days ago 

Thank you so much for stopping by my blog this morning. You know, I'm glad that our government realized that we are a powerful agent of change, and I hope this will touch the lives of women positively!

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 16 days ago 

You might actually be lucky to get the grant because some months back I heard people giving testimonies that they got grant from federal government…

So, just keep your fingers crossed… it might show up.

 16 days ago 

Oh, I just hope so, Thanks for the good wishes!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42