The Most Adventurous Thing I Have Ever Done.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 months ago (edited)

Introduction

When speaking of adventure, it is an experience or something you've experienced. It could be a fun or risky event. Just like I read in the comment section of the main contest written by @wakeupkitty.pal

... My life is one big adventure...

Oh yes, life is an adventure because we all take the journey through without knowing the outcome of what will happen next.

I've taken many adventures but this time, I just want to share this one that unlocked another adventure.


1721833190011_1.jpg
Picture of me among the Quarter Guard


My Journey to the Land of the Unknown

In 2015, I was posted to Niger State, Nigeria, to serve my country, Nigeria, in the compulsory National Youth Service Corp (NYSC). It was a difficult thing for me. I cried and wished to change the state or stop attending the programme. This was because of insurgencies in northern Nigeria which spread out from Niger State itself.

Along the line, I changed my mind to take it as an adventure. At one time, I remember I had friends who served in the same state and came back safe.


The journey began with traveling to NYSC camp at Paiko. On our way, I met very lovely people on the bus, which encouraged me to keep going and that it would be fine. It was a journey of 18 hours. Along the way, we missed the road. The driver only knew his way from my state, Akwa Ibom, to Abuja, the nation's capital.

It took us almost 2 hours of argument from past 9pm to 10 o'clock for us to hire a taxi driver to lead us to where the camp was located. In the midst of the argument between the prospective corp members and the driver, I began to cry deep inside of me, wondering how we stopped in the middle of nowhere without going back or reaching our location. Long story cut short, we arrived at the camp by past 11pm.


1721833158065_1.jpg

Picture of me after swearing in as a Corp member


Another adventure began; military drills/training, waking up by 4am, sometimes 3am to dress up for morning parades and the likes. Farther Lord! It was hectic and annoying. In the camp, we were told different stories of places in Niger State where you'll have to cross a river before you get there, a place where you find loins and tigers on the road, no network, and the other stories.

I kept praying and asking God to take me to the best place. The day of posting came, guess what? I was posted to the state's capital to one government ministry. To crown it all, all my friends (yes, I made friends) were posted to the capital too. We were afraid we could be split into different places or even the "land of the unknown."


1721833122804_3.jpg

Picture of my friends and I going for registration


From the camp to the Redeemed Christian Copers Fellowship (RCCF) lodge was another one. We left the camp and went into the city. It was just a dry and advanced village or township, not as beautiful and developed as my state capital.

I burst into a loud cry again. God, what did I do wrong? Why was I posted to this dry state? I went to the RCCF lodge, we were welcomed, we were served food. My God! Is this what people eat? Hmmm. As if that wasn't enough, a list of rules and regulations was read to us that evening. Gush, this is not what I opted for. The off-camp registration started the following morning at the Local Government registration centre, a long queue under the hot sun, as if it wasn't enough. I couldn't register on the first day due to the large number of corp members.


1721833104011_1.jpg
Picture of me in our last CDS before POP


Long story cut short, I was able to register. In the RCCF lodge, a corp member told me about a certain government lodge which has fewer rules with three people in a room and less pay better to me than the Christian lodge. I thought it was better. I visited the place, did all the formalities and then was given a space.

Long story cut short, the one year was just full of adventures from one thing to another. Both sweet and bitter experiences. In all of it all, I conquered. I came back strong though. I lost something a story for another day. It was an amazing journey that the stories can't be told in just a post.


Cc; @goodybest


I'm inviting
@chilaw
@impersonal
@comfortpeter

All pictures gotten from my Facebook page


Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 months ago 

Omg! You are so brave to face all those adventures at your youth. However as you said that made you very strong.

 2 months ago 

Yes, it did made me strong. Thank you for the support.

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07 We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.



SEARCH team.png

Curated by : @damithudaya

 2 months ago (edited)

Thank you so much @damithudaya for this support. This is overwhelmingly appreciated.

 2 months ago 

Even before I went for service in my own time, I had already made up my mind that there’s nothing that would have made me stay in NCCF lodge. I came along with extra cash, I wasn’t ready for there plenty rules.

 2 months ago 

Honestly! Though I see them as a first place of contact to settle if you have no where to go, this is to avoid running into wrong hands.

Thank you for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49