You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Innovation: The children of South Africa

You said well, "Speak to our children". At every level, there will always be something you can't buy, so my parents educated me from an early age. Sometimes, however, poverty is hidden from children, out of fear of making them uncomfortable or wanting to protect them. Then they grow up without understanding the value of money or even of work, sometimes even children in families are spoiled, others in very poor families grow up ashamed of their condition... In both cases they are unprepared to face things.

Sometimes talking about money is something that is considered inelegant, disrespectful, as if thinking about profit were something that belongs only to overly ambitious or unscrupulous people. Instead, being educated on these topics can also help people who grow up poor to improve their situation, including not being exploited by the dishonest.

Sort:  
 last year 

Oh gosh! I got goosebumps when I read your comment...
I can get so cross. We can educate children on topics that are totally irrelevant to what they need.

I had history as a subject. If I compare it to the history of today, it is totally irrelevant and doesn't mean a thing.

If only I had had life skills as a subject, I would have been better prepared for life.

Time is not changing; it has changed.

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by @o1eh at 10%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33