Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

Hello Steemians, I am so delighted to participate in this beautiful contest in the STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE Community organised by @goodybest. Thank you so much ma'am for the contest and it is my pleasure to drop my entry. Please feel free to go through my post. Thank you all and I love you guys so much.

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language, and can your kids speak the language?

free-photo-of-group-of-anzalu-dancers-in-traditional-tribal-costumes (1).jpeg

Source

I am a proud indigene from Nigeria, My indigenous language is Eggon, and it is a language among the sub-languages in Nigeria. Eggon people's state of origin is the Nasarawa state of Nigeria.

My indigenous language is English which almost all the citizens of Nigeria understand. Apart from the indigenous language, Nigeria also has three major languages and many sub-languages.

I am not yet married but when married someday, I will teach my children my indigenous language irrespective of their father's language because I am so proud of my language, my language is my true identity, my origin, and my pride.

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

pexels-photo-8190802.jpeg

Source

Every country has tradition, the essence is to give the citizens of a country a sense of belonging and identity and as such, my country has traditions that help in adding values e.g integrity, good education, freedom, personal responsibilities, the value of being selfless, etc in the country.

Tradition is very essential in our societies, thereby bringing families and friends together making people understand their place, etc.

Traditions in Nigeria
There are many traditions in Nigeria vary in the different cultures and these traditions are:-

Respecting Elders This is a very strong tradition in Nigeria, Youth must respect their elders and this has helped the citizens of the country to teach the values of empathy, kindness, morals, and compassion in the country and even outside the country.

speaking the truth speaking the truth is a tradition in Nigeria which is why order is established and maintained in Nigeria. Truth matters to us as individuals and to our societies as a whole, being truthful means Nigeria citizens can grow and mature by learning from each other

It is through this tradition that today Nigerians are living in peace and unity.

studying hard to become useful studying hard for success is very important in life, it enables the citizens of Nigeria to develop critical thinking skills that are required for success, and it also helps in building our manner of thinking.

pexels-photo-4144100.jpeg

Source

This culture has played positive roles in the lives of the citizens of Nigeria and has also helped us to become responsible citizens of the country, etc.

I appreciate the time that you have dedicated to reading my post and I will never take your kindness for granted. Thank you all and I love you all.

I want to invite @josepha and @simonnwigwe

Sort:  
 last month 

Screenshot 2024-06-19 at 14.24.30.png

For small-scale images, I think it would be wiser if you use the markdown below. The articles you write will look more interesting.

<div class="pull-left"> then paste the image link and end with </div>. Continue with the contents of the article.

Ok thank you so much 🙏

Language is an easier way can communicate with one another without another person hearing. I wish you success.

 last month 

Nice to read read about your indigenous language. You've clearly stated how the traditions and culture of your people are being preserved, that's great.

Here's sending you best wishes, well done!

Thank you ma

 26 days ago 

You're the fourth person to join this contest whose Eggon is their indigenous language, it's good that you're determined to teach your unborn children your language. Please note Eggon is your indigenous language while English is the official language of Nigeria. Success!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61