A Mistake I Made and What I Have Learned

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE4 months ago

Hi Steemians, It's a pleasure sharing my sad experience with you guys. Learn from my mistake.

The Terrible Mistake

mistake-1966448_1280.jpg
Source

Though mistakes could be inevitable, it however could be avoided or minimized by being proactive, learning from other people experiences, understanding your environment, being smart and so on.

If we had been more careful, many of the mistakes we do would have flow with the tide.

A Bite of the cake

mistake-876597_1280.jpgSourceMistakes are like spilling an ink on a certificate

I don't know about you but for me, I have made lots of mistakes, both simple and complex ones and I've learnt a lot from these mistakes.

Getting stuffs from the market is one of the things I do mostly on weekends.

There was a particular day I went to the market to purchase food items. I prepared the list of things to get from the market but I had to get to the bank first to get the funds I will need for the purchasing of the items I needed. This took me some time because of the number of people I met.
The bank was just within the market area; so I just needed to stroll to the exact places I needed to get what I needed.

The Trick

The market is always overpopulated on Saturdays. I had walked some few meters away from the bank, just some steps to my destination, when an handsome, young man approached me and another supposed gentleman beside me in an opposite direction.

He told us that he's a representative from a particular company that's doing a give away in the market. He pointed at a particular direction where they are doing the give away and funny enough it wasn't far from where he met us.

If I had followed my Instinct

I was reluctant to go with him but the other person convinced me that we should just go with him afterall the place was just a stone throw and it's a free exercise.

Finally, we arrived at the place. He then gave us two cards having different characters on them which would determine the gift we would be getting. We did as instructed and luckily for the guy he won a smart phone while I won a supposed DVD player but we were further instructed that before getting the gift we would have to pay some amount of money; unlike me that would have retreated, I allowed myself to be further deceived by the person that won a smart phone, he quickly brought out his own amount and was persuading me to give the money. After considering the cost of a DVD player I thought it not bad to hand over the money.

The Shock

accidental-slip-542551_1280.jpgThe shock

I got out of slumber when I was told that the item I won was not available that I should play gain and funny enough I had handed over the money to them.

At that point I got annoyed with the person asking for the refund of my money but he said the money is non-refundable. It was when I began exchanging words with him that some scary looking guys came from different corners. It was then I realized that the guy that won the smart phone was part of the team.

When I realized I had been dupped and there was nothing I could do, I quietly went my way with lots of pain but was encouraged because I was still alive and would regain such lose with time.

But, I learnt one of the greatest lessons in my life that fateful day.

This was an experience I couldn't share with my mom and siblings.

So guys, shine your eyes these guys are everywhere, metamorphosing on a daily bases.
Learn from my mistake guys. You don't just need to be wise but be smart.

Thank you

I invite @nsijoro @basil20 @bossj23 to participate in this contest

Cc.

@goodybest

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Thanks for the upvote.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 4 months ago 

Chai! You were duped by the dubious money launderers! This is not a new trick, I can recall back in the 2000s my momma used to warn us each time we went to the market not to play that gambling, they used mystic forces. Well, as rightly said the good thing is that you were not physically hurt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63