"My town in 10 pictures: Delhi”

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago
Delhi is about 52 km long and almost 50 km wide. I think if it were possible, it would have covered 100 km more in each direction, but other bordering states like UP, Haryana, and Rajasthan won’t allow it to do so. However, it has spread practically 200 km in each direction in the name of the National Capital Region.

  

I have reasons to love my city even if there are some flaws which we've been trying to get rid off. I have lived in different cities and some of them were better than Delhi but I still love my city for its uniqueness.


yamuna-expressway-385360_960_720.jpg

Dehi Edited in MSPaint

The Yamuna River, Haryana’s villages and metros surrounds my city, Delhi,, and Rajasthan state’s desert and hilly area of the Aravalli range. My city has an ancient historical background, but it has kept itself green to a large extent. But don’t get confused by my statement that has the word "green" in it. The population of my city might surprise you because few countries have as many people as my city alone.

In 2022, the Delhi Metro will have a population of 32,066,000 people.But if we talk about the Delhi National Capital Region, the population is close to 600 million, with an area of 55,083 km2.

Let me clarify here that I took all these pictures in 2018, when I had just returned to Delhi for a brief break from Sydney and wanted to see my city before I was supposed to go back to Australia for the next three years.

Qutb Minar

So I posted these ten pictures that may or may not be from famous places, but from the angle, people would not showcase them as famous or popular. I chose them because, even if they are from famous places, my selection of spot or angle from which I took them is different. I have tried to showcase them so the world sees them from my point of view.


ᵠᵘᵗᵘᵇᴹᶦⁿᵃʳ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ
For instance, how many of you have seen the Qutb Minar, the minaret that is part of over 50 very popular buildings in the Qutb complex in Mehrauli, from such a close spot? I will give you two images of this minaret to give you a better idea of its scrupulous value.  


ᵠᵘᵗᵘᵇᴹᶦⁿᵃʳ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ

Metro Walk Walking Mall , New Delhi

I’ve been to hundreds of malls in New Delhi, but Metro Walk Walking Mall is my favorite because it has all the shops on the ground floor, no escalators, all the shops are separate from one another, and there is a large water sports complex inside the mall complex itself.

a lovely water sports complex where you can spend a few hours.

DSC07611.JPG

ᴹᵉᵗʳᵒ ᵂᵃˡᵏ ᴹᵃˡˡ ⁽ᴺᵉʷ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ⁾ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ

Tulsi Restaurant New Delhi

With thousands of great restaurant that attract tourists in Delhi the most visited cities in India. But let me give you an idea of the city's lesser famous places where I go to eat.

If you have a plan for vegetarian food, you can find some great and delicious foods here.

DSC07638.JPG

ᵀᵘˡˢᶦ ᴿᵉˢᵗᵃᵘʳᵃⁿᵗ ⁽ᴺᵉʷ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ⁾ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ
have an enjoyable meal in my favorite vegetarian restaurant

Jama Masjid

All of you might have seen Jama Masjid in Chandni Chowk Area from various angles, but how many of you have seen it from this angle?

DSC07560.JPG

ᴶᵃᵐᵃ ᴹᵃˢʲᶦᵈ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ

Chandni Chowk, Delhi

And when I was in Chandni Chowk, I walked past the Delhi Railway Station and clicked a few shots, but I would show you something different. This park is just in front of the station where you can feed these birds.

DSC07485.JPG

ᶜʰᵃⁿᵈⁿᶦ ᶜʰᵒʷᵏ ᴾᵃʳᵏ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ

Satyam INOX Cinema Delhi

Satyam INOX Patel Nagar is my favorite multiplex cinema, where I go to watch my favorite Indian and international movies. I am not ashamed to admit that I get a concessionary pass because I have a close connection with management.

DSC07812.JPG

ˢᵃᵗʸᵃᵐ ᴵᴺᴼˣ ᶜᶦⁿᵉᵐᵃ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ

Akshar Dham, Delhi

Can you imagine how disappointed I was? I was in front of the Akshardham temple after traveling for almost one hour amid the traffic, and I was not allowed to carry my phone, wallet, or camera inside the temple. I wanted to take photographs because I do not visit places with a religious angle, so I came back after taking a few photos from the outside.

DSC04946.JPG

ᴬᵏˢʰᵃʳ ᴰʰᵃᵐ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ

Thomas School

I couldn’t stop myself from taking a picture of St. Thomas School Indirapuram because this school is close to my residence, and I sometimes wonder why most teenagers use their motorbikes to come to school and increase the traffic, especially during the mornings and afternoons when the traffic situation becomes almost chaotic as traffic comes to a halt.

DSC07932.JPG

ᵀʰᵒᵐᵃˢ ˢᶜʰᵒᵒˡ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ
So, guys, you can see I am not telling you all the things that sound like boasting about my magnificent city with thousands of beautiful spots, but I am also trying to give you a different scenario that needs our attention.

Dilli Hat, New Delhi
Let me show you my favorite shopping area in Rohini area New Delhi. This shopping area is Unique in itself as it supports local artisan showcase their products here and provide them a platform to sell their items to Indian and international visitors.

DSC07840.JPG

ᴰᶦˡˡᶦ ᴴᵃᵗ ᴺᵉʷ ᴰᵉˡʰᶦ ²⁰¹⁸ ˢᵒⁿʸᶜʸᵇᵉʳˢʰᵒᵗ

I would love to invite @shravana, @edidiongeffiong and @senehasa to play photographers with me

Thank you all for your time.

I support #smilesouthafrica 10%

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Delhi! I know it for one thing... Sachin Tendulkar, my cricket hero!
Thank you for your entry.

 2 years ago 

Sachin Tendulkar comes from Mumbai (Bombay). Delhi is for Virat Kohli. Let me share a secret with you, cricket is my life, and right now I am heartbroken because we lost to England, and I am sorry for SA because they always lose to rain rather than a cricket team.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! I didn't know you where a cricket lover. I don't like cricket... I LOVE cricket.
I always thought Sachin was also a hero in Delhi. As for Mumbai, my IPL team, Mumbai Indians. Hopefully they can make it 6 wins in the near future.
Yip, I also didn't like the outcome of yesterday's match.
As I told one of my Steemian cricket friends I would have LOVED to see India and Pakistan in the final. The atmosphere would have been electric!
SA, the story of our life but we should not have lost against the Netherlands.

 2 years ago 

Sachin is mentor of Mumbai Indians and I am a great fan of him as well Mr 360 ABD whom I always select in my virtual team. Your wicket keeper QD is also great. I can name a few more like Del Staten etc. In fact, I remember every match starting from,,, was it 1992 when SA resumed playing cricket after a long time and the first series against India? But your present captain is not up to the mark (I hope you will pl excuse me for saying that)lol :)

 2 years ago 

ABD, he is a legend!
QD, he is talented
TB, I think the whole Nation agrees with you.
1992 - Now this is interesting. They had it on TV yesterday.
It was announced on 10 Nov 1991 that SA will be allowed to take part in international contests. Exactly one year later on 10 Nov 1992 we played our first match.
My eyes are locked onto Tristan Stubbs (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

What a coincidence, after 30 years of that historic moment we two are sitting on the sidelines 😄🎉Cheers!

 2 years ago (edited)

Good day, @dove11 Most of my friends who have been to India have told me that Delhi is a very dirty city. But after seeing your photos, I think they are mistaken. Because the backgrounds of all the photos are tidy. Honestly, I must mention that your blog is pretty appealing. Images are also very stunning. Thanks for sharing with us.

PS. Thanks for inviting me.

 2 years ago 

I don't mind your saying so because every city in the world has two facets. One is unattractive, while the other is attractive. I have seen different cities in the world, and it applies to each of them. It depends on where one goes and what they see.

I must add that Delhi is one of the most populated cities in the world, so it has got to be ugly in certain areas, and the asylum seekers have made things worse. Thanks for accepting my invite and your feedback.

 2 years ago 

You're right. Cities can be beautiful or ugly depending on the inhabitants. Even in my country, when people travel to stunning locations, they leave those locations and dump their trash all over the place. Then such lovely places became nasty. All forms of beauty are influenced by people's attitudes and actions.

 2 years ago 

Thank you, I mostly live in Australia where the beauty of the land is considered unmatched but even in that country certain place as good or bad as back in Delhi. But I am an Indian and I love my city. Thank you once again.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome dear @dove11.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the invite. You have shown Delhi to me in beautiful 10 pictures. You are having good photography skills.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the appreciation 👍I love doing photography but I think I am only a mediocre photographer. I read one of your posts yesterday in which you shown us how to use SteemWorld. Thank you for the same although I have been using it from the first week.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for your feedback

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much.

Thank you!
A small donation can put a BIG smile on a face!!

 2 years ago 

Thank you!

 2 years ago 

Wow, your town is really beautiful, i wish to come there one day.
Thanks for inviting me, i already participated
I wish you luck

 2 years ago 

Thank bro, I saw your city through your images and I loved it.

 2 years ago 

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62296.59
ETH 2441.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65