Market Places In My Locality : Sundays at the famous Old Bus Depot Markets in Canberra

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE6 months ago (edited)

My dear @goodybest this is in response to your contest

  

I have been hearing a lot about this market ever since I shifted to Canberra in 2018, but I was not getting an opportunity to visit this market, which was once the Transport Depot.

IMG_9433.JPG

So last Sunday, I went to this market by bus. Yes, I prefer traveling by bus on weekends because we have a fare cap of $4.6 for unlimited travel for the entire day on weekends, whatever Canberra transport bus or light rail you travel by, and it also gives me freedom from driving and finding parking spaces and saves parking fees, which in Australia cost more than petrol.

DSC01867.JPG

Let me tell you that this market is located in Kingston and opens on Sundays for a few hours.

IMG_9423.JPG

As I said, this was formerly the transport depot for buses, but the government transformed this heritage building with top-class engineering and construction design, which is made of welded frame.

IMG_9394.JPG

When they shifted the transportation to other areas, they wanted to save it for its high degree of technical and design quality.

It was like demonstrating the art of construction to the Australians and visitors, so they converted it into a marketplace.

I saw a great number of sophisticated lovers of fine handcrafted wares not only from Canberra but also from nearby cities flock to this unique Sunday market.

IMG_9407.JPG

What do you want—clothing, food, or jewelry? If you are a style lover at a low price, this is the market for you. Okay, this market attracts nothing compared to our markets, but Canberra's total population is only half a million, so the gathering of 2000 is not a bad one for those who make their way to Canberra’s famous Old Bus Depot Markets every Sunday.

IMG_9412.JPG

In a fabulous old industrial building, you will experience the endless color, tastes, sounds, and atmosphere that is Canberra’s best experience for an Indian like me.

IMG_9413.JPG

This market has a vibrant atmosphere with thousands of people enjoying different segments of arts and designs, so you can see some of the best handcrafts.

IMG_9411.JPG

Looking for high-quality items on special offer? This is the right place for you.

This place is busy all year round on Sundays, but the summer holiday period is the best, and all the stallholders do record business.

I tried to find out what they create as their expertise and whatever I saw impressed me.

IMG_9392.JPG

I went and tasted some freshly baked treats, I brought a few fruits and watched artful accessories from jewelers from a distance.

I stood at this point and listened to a set of talented performers. I had never imagined that I would see so many stalls this Sunday full of stylish items.

DSC01862.JPG

Canberra’s indoor Sunday Old Bus Depot Markets are basically to promote the talent and creativity of regional arts and craftspeople, or, you can say, the Aboriginals, who are good at their jobs.

This market has more than 200 stalls in this old building that sell such items.

IMG_9417.JPG

These stalls are full of wonderfully crafted, handcrafted items, home-cooked food, and wines.

You must be aware that Australia has a large number of wineries owned by families, and of course, you can taste freshly ground coffee at different places.

IMG_9426.JPG

It was my first trip to this market, but I loved it because the people were very friendly. The best part was the markets inside were easy to access.

IMG_9429.JPG

I tried a couple of foods out of the wide range from the stalls scattered all over the market and, to be frank, I enjoyed the multicultural food and its taste.

IMG_9401.JPG

Finally, a cup of coffee while watching the musicians on the stage and taking pictures hesitantly because I did not know how they would react, so some of the photos might look out of focus.

Overall, the markets were busy, but there was no hustle and bustle inside, and everything went smoothly.

IMG_9431.JPG

I saw the parking area and found out that, contrary to my initial hesitation about parking, it has a lot of parking space and best of all, the parking is free here.

IMG_9432.JPG

Finally, it was time to leave because this weekly Sunday market is open just for four hours

IMG_9427.JPG

I turned around and took a final image of the market although I took a few more images of the adjoining areas on my way to the bus stop.

Cameras used Cannon DSLR and also Sony Cybershot

I invite @benoitblanc @josepha @senehasa @enamul17 and @ngoenyi to join and have a firsthand look!

Sort:  
 6 months ago 

My dear friend @dove11 the famous Old Bus Depot Markets in Canberra you're showing us is jaw-dropping! You're detailed and the images are superb. Thank you so much for being part of this contest, I appreciate your entry and success!

 6 months ago 

Thank you so much for your appreciation and your sweet words. We have very few such markets otherwise we have either supermarket chains or malls so I decided to visit this place especially for this contest.

 6 months ago 

Aww and the market worth writing about!

 6 months ago 

This is a very beautiful market sir. I like how the market is. Look very neat. Thanks for inviting me, and success to you.

 6 months ago 

Thanks for your support 👍

 6 months ago 

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community. We encourage you to keep posting your quality content and support each other in the community.

DescriptionInformation
Verified User
Club Status#club75
Plagiarism Free
AI Article Free
#steemexclusive
Bot Free
Beneficiaries
* #burnsteem25
* Community
* Charity

null 25%✅
steembetterlife ❌
worldsmile❌


I invite you to support @pennsif.witness to grow across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here

 6 months ago 

Thanks for the validation, my best regards!

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



 6 months ago 

Thanks @o1eh, your support is highly appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68