Contest - My Childhood!!! (19/3/2024)

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE5 months ago

INTRODUCTION

Childhood is the period between infancy and puberty. It is between the age of 1 to 17 or 18 years. During childhood, children are as free as a bird in the sky with no responsibilities, their work is to play and sleep while parents provide and care for them. At childhood, children are dependent on their parents and guardians and they are vulnerable and are meant to be protected. Memories of childhood can be fun or full or resume because of what a child faced.

What is the first childhood memory?

My childhood was a memorable one which I enjoyed and treasure till date. I grew up with my paternal grandmother because my parents were always busy at work. My childhood was spent at my home town in a house filled with relations and friends and full of activities. I enjoyed travelling on holidays to Lagos and at other times, to the village. I enjoyed playing with dolls and also riding bicycle around my compound. I enjoyed playing hide and seek at home. I also have memories of visiting the village where we will sit outside under the moonlight and tell stories. At childhood, I had no worries about what the future holds because everything was provided for me, and no responsibility of supporting the family. Rather, few times, I use to find myself in serious issues because of playing pranks. Sometimes, I'll act sick because when I'm sick, whatever I ask to eat or drink, my granny will provide just to make sure I recover soon. While others were fasting, as a child, I wasn't allowed to. I was pampered to some extent and I still treasure every moment I spent with my late paternal grandmother. I also have memories of celebration of birthdays where my friends would come join me to eat and drink.

Screenshot_20240319-132128~2.png
With my brother

What is the first childhood memory?

I had good memories during childhood. My first childhood memory was about school. I can remember being taken to school every morning by my uncle in a car then called beetles. It was white but it is no more in existence. My neighbour who was also my friend was in the same school with me, and usually left my class to be in her class, and my class teacher will always find me in her class, she will warn me and I will still go back the next day. I also have fond memories of my grandmother visiting me at school and I used to be very happy to see her. There was a time I decided to go swimming with my cousin and her friend even tho I didn't know how to swim, and I gulped in water in the process, going down, almost drowning but my cousin's friend saved me. I had memories of flying in an aeroplane to Lagos and from Lagos where I went to spend my holiday with my aunty.

Screenshot_20240319-134622~2.png
My birthday at childhood

Did you have a lot of friends when you were young?

Most of the people I played with during my childhood were my cousins, so it was more of my cousins being my friends. Even as a child, I was withdrawn so I didn't have a lot of friends. I played with my cousins, my house helps and aunts never allowed us to go out to play in the neighborhood because they were trying to protect us from sexual harassment, rape, and other negative things. Instead, television, dolls, bicycles were provided for us so we were free to move around in the compound and make friends among family members.

Screenshot_20240319-140928~2.png
Photo by Safari Consoler from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com

Do you think it is better for children to grow up in cities or villages?

Growing up in cities has its advantages and disadvantages, same as growing up in villages. Growing up in cities can make a child smarter and to some extent street smart. A child who grows up in cities learns better in terms of modern learning facilities, he is exposed to technology early and can express himself better and possibly more confident in life. A child who grows up in the village is more stronger in terms of manual labour though he or she might not be able to express himself confidently in English and may not be able to use modern facilities but can do work like fetching water from the stream, planting and harvesting, trading etc even at very young age, but I think it's better for children to grow up in cities than in villages because children in the city have better opportunities and various interests in life. They can choose from varieties, children in the city are exposed early to real life situations and are able to meet different races of people and cultures and socialize with them. Vera beta career opportunities in the in the city than in the village. Children growing up in the city can effectively compete anywhere and anytime.

Screenshot_20240319-142449~2.png
Childhood in the city is better
All shots from Infinix note 5

I invite @Davidmark, @uduak3287 to join in this contest.

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community

DescriptionInformation
Verified User
Club Status#club75
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free / AI Article Free
✔️
Bot Free✔️
Beneficiaries
* #burnsteem25
* Community
* Charity

null 25% ❌
steembetterlife ❌
worldsmile❌

Appeal to community members:

  • Let's increase Steem Power (SP) to support each other by joining at least #club5050
  • Maintain the authenticity of your content to get greater support
  • Only use original photos or copyright-free images by linking the image source

Verified by @𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘢𝘥𝘪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48