Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFElast month (edited)

ai-generated-8436080_1280.webp

Source

Hi friends!

I am here with my participation on the above contest topic organised by a very special user @goodybest. I sincerely appreciate your tireless efforts to seeing us working so hard and busy to earn a living by organising interesting contests and also admonishes our understanding as we read from different entries. Feel very comfortable as you read through my friends.

I am an indigine of Nigeria and I am so proud to be a Nigerian. Being a Nigerian is not so unfortunate for me because I know it is the Lord's will for being an indigine of Nigeria and I wish to keep sharing on my little knowledge on my indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions preservation.

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language and can your kids speak the language?

For an individual to know more or little on his or her Indigenous language it then means that the person must have stayed in that particular place for a little or a while. I am born and brought up in the Northern part of Nigeria and Nigeria is among the month the west African countries.

My indigenous language is Eggon from Nasarawa state. Eggon is not among my country official languages and only people from my part of the world can speak and understand it. Nigeria has more than 250 ethnic groups and about 500 indigenous languages spoken In Nigeria.

girls-7868295_1280.webp

Source

Let children learn culture and traditions. It is made compulsory for every parent to teach their children their indigenous languages because it's a thing to be proud of. I have friends who only speaks English Language and it is a general language we speak in Nigeria Apart from the three major Languages I.e Huasa, Igbo and Yoruba.

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

One of the most important aspect where tradition takes its place in my country with no doubt is the marriage rights. It is in the African tradition that the man would come with his people to do all the necessary by paying some amount of money and then getting everything done rightly in the traditional way by wearing the traditional attire, cooking the traditional food and dancing the traditional dance in joyful modes.

Elders makes the tradition complete and therefore, for a man to walk up to the girl's family, some elders would be taken among to make everything so official. Even if a citizen grows up abroad, he or she must come back home and pass through the marriage processes which makes our tradition respected and practiced.

artist-3008031_1280.jpg

Source

It is in the tradition also that a community shouldn't be without a community or a village head. The village head will be called a chief and should also have elders who will be his advisors in certain decisions that concerns the growth of the community and citizens. The reason of having the elderly ones as the chiefs and heads is so that the tradition won't be neglected, they will always be there to remind the younger ones on the fact about the traditional practices, thank you all.**

I invite my friends @josepha @kuzboy and @vickyson to join this contest and I love you all...

Sort:  
 last month 

Thank you for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community. We encourage you to keep posting quality content and support each other in the community.


DescriptionInformation
Plagiarism Free
#steemexclusive
Bot Free
Support burnsteem25-
Support Community or Charityworldsmile: 10.00%
Status ClubClub 5050
AI Article✅ Original (Human text!)
I invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here
 last month 

Thanks for the review.

 last month 

Thank you for sharing your indigenous language, Eggon, and some of your traditions with us. You are right, parents have the responsibility of teaching their children their native language, but sadly, some have failed to do so. It's great that you know yours and that you will teach your kids when you have them. I appreciate your contribution.

 last month 

Thank you ma, I as well appreciate your warm comment. Parents should teach the children all they need before it gets to hand, success everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57