My Traditional Delight!

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFElast month (edited)
✨Assalam o Alikum✨

Hello dear friends, I hope you're all doing well. I am Afifa Noor from Pakistan and today I'm participating in Contest My Traditional Delight! organised by @goodybest mam. It's a traditional delight recipe that's widely loved in Pakistan and has many health benefits This dish is a family favourite.

bittergourdmeat.png

Created at Canva

I'm thrilled to share a classic Pakistani recipe that's a crowd-pleaser and packs a nutritional punch. This recipe is not only delicious but also great for our health. It's a recipe taught to me by my grandma, and I've always followed her instructions to the letter. So, let's get started!

Bittergourd Meat

IMG20240829130920.jpg

  • Ingredients:
  • 1/2 kg meat
  • 1/2 kg bitter gourd
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 2-3 onions
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 2 teaspoons red chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 2 teaspoons ginger garlic paste
  • 1 teaspoon meat tenderizer powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1 teaspoon coriander powder
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 2 black cardamoms

IMG20240829094000.jpg

Instructions:

Wash the meat and put it in a pot with all the spices, yogurt, and ginger garlic paste, onions , tomatoes.

IMG20240829095248.jpgIMG20240829094646.jpg

Add 2 glasses of water and cover the pot, letting it cook on slow to medium heat until the meat is tender and the oil separates.

IMG20240829095810.jpgIMG20240829095737.jpg

While the meat was cooking, I checked on it 2-3 times until it was tender and the water had dried up and the oil was separate. Meanwhile, I started cutting the bitter gourd. Cutting it has the advantage of removing its bitterness and making it taste delicious. By doing it this way, it becomes even more flavorful.

Here's how I cut the bitter gourd:

  • First, I removed the skin, or you can leave it on if you prefer.

IMG20240829100325.jpg

IMG20240829100843.jpgIMG20240829100756.jpg
  • Then, I cut it into 2 pieces and removed all the seeds from inside.
IMG20240829104317.jpgIMG20240829101635.jpg
  • I cut them into small pieces. After cutting, I sprinkled a spoonful of salt on top. The benefit of adding salt is that it removes any remaining bitterness.
IMG20240829102717.jpgIMG20240829102623.jpg
  • After adding salt, I left it alone for about an hour while the meat was still cooking."

When the meat is cooked and the oil starts to separate, mix all the ingredients well with a spoon for 2-3 minutes while continuing to cook, then remove from heat and set aside."

IMG20240829121509.jpgIMG20240829103846.jpg

And then, the bitter gourd that we had set aside with salt for half an hour, it's time to wash it now. My grandma says that this step requires a bit of extra effort. Before washing, squeeze it well with your hands or wrap it in a cloth and squeeze out as much water as possible. Then, wash the bitter gourd with clean water and squeeze it again. I'm a bit tired here 😅 but I'm following grandma's recipe fully.

IMG20240829122129.jpgIMG20240829122008.jpg

Then, I took a fry pan and added 2-3 tablespoons of cooking oil to it. I added the bitter gourd and 3 , 4 green chillies to the pan and fried it until it changed color and became soft, cooking it on slow to medium heat until it turned a brownish color, being careful not to burn or turn it black.

IMG20240829122414.jpgIMG20240829122232.jpg

IMG20240829123223.jpg

Once the bitter gourd was nicely fried, I added it to the meat and mixed everything together. Then, I simmered it on low heat for 5-10 minutes, allowing the flavors to blend together and the taste to mature. If you like, you can add half a cup of water at this stage, which will make the dish look more appealing and tender. Let it cook for a bit,

IMG20240829123814_BURST001_COVER.jpgIMG20240829123506.jpg

And our traditional delight is ready to devour!💕

IMG20240829130817.jpg

I hope you'll love it. While there are many ways to cook bitter gourd, this method is especially flavorful. Feel free to enjoy it with roti (bread), rice, or anything else you like. Finally, add a sprinkle of fresh coriander for garnish. 💞

IMG20240829131215.jpg


Benefits of Bitter Gourd (Karela)
  1. Good for skin: Bitter gourd has antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties that can help to reduce acne, wrinkles, and other skin issues.
  2. Good for health: Bitter gourd is rich in vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants that can help to boost your immune system and overall health.
  3. Good for hair: Bitter gourd can help to promote hair growth, reduce dandruff, and improve scalp health.
  4. Good for weight loss: Bitter gourd is low in calories and high in fiber, making it a great addition to a weight loss diet.
  5. Lowers Cholesterol Levels: Bitter gourd has been shown to reduce LDL (bad) cholesterol levels and improve overall heart health.
  6. Treats Respiratory Infections: Bitter gourd has antimicrobial properties that can help to treat respiratory infections such as bronchitis and asthma.
  7. Improves Eye Health: Bitter gourd is rich in vitamin A and beta-carotene, which can help to improve eye health and reduce the risk of age-related macular degeneration.
  8. Cures Constipation: Bitter gourd is high in fiber and water content, making it a natural laxative that can help to treat constipation.

I hope you like it .Don't forget to share your review about My Traditional Delight 'Bittergourd Meat' Recipe in comment section.

steem2.png


I invite friends

@surinadewi
@yaumilahya
@sadaf02

Regards
@creative.streams , My Introduction

Sort:  
 last month 

Wa'alaikumussalam wahai temanku @creative.streams, saya melihat pare juga ada di daerah mu, saya merasa seperti berada di dekatmu saat membacanya. Pasti ini sangat lezat. Salam sehat temanku disana.🥰😘

Thank you so much, my friend! Reading your comments always brings me joy and boosts my morale. And yes, this recipe is indeed very delicious! By the way, have you ever tried Bitter Gourd?🥰💖

 last month 

Sama-sama temanku 💕

💕

 last month 

Thank you for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community. We encourage you to keep posting quality content and support each other in the community.

  • Hope you will increase your CSI engaging with the others!

DescriptionInformation
Plagiarism Free
#steemexclusive
Bot Free
Support burnsteem25-
Support Community or Charity-
Status ClubClub 100
AI Article✅ Original (Human text!)
I invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here

I haven't tried this food yet I see this is really delicious and useful I want to try it hopefully satisfied thank you the recipe🥰

Thankyou so much for valuable comment 🥰

 29 days ago 

Oh my goodness! You're traditional delight is so mouthwatering! Gosh, I'm salivating, your pictures make it more enticing, and it's packed with both protein and vitamins. I appreciate your entry dear!

Thankyou so much ma'am for your magical words I appreciate 🥰

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Your post has been supported by THE DEC TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.

Black Modern Personal LinkedIn Banner_20240801_181829_0000.jpg

Delicious !
This is one of my favourite dish. I love to eat bitter gourd. I also make this dish often. It turns out very tasty. Your step by step procedure is very informative. I really appreciate your cooking skills. Best wishes for contest.

Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm thrilled to hear that bitter gourd is one of your favorite dishes and that you enjoy making it too! It's always great to connect with fellow foodies who share the same passion for cooking. I'm glad you found the step-by-step procedure helpful - I tried my best to make it easy to follow. Thank you for your appreciation and good wishes for the contest! Good luck to you as well, and happy cooking.💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66