The Diary Game || 10-8-24 || Mixed Emotions - Sorrowful [Funeral] and Joyful [Wedding] Moments

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE5 days ago

Screenshot_2024-08-16-18-59-17-897_com.canva.editor-edit.jpg
Edited using canva

Dear Diary,
It was a beautiful Saturday morning. A Saturday of sorrow and joy. Just imagine two unrelated things making my day memorable. You may be wondering how my day was sorrowful and at the same time joyful as these two can meet. I'll spare the narratives. Because of the events that transpired these two emotions, I was able to promote steemit. This is the narrative.

Weeping with Those who Weep

Death, the enemy of man, placed a sting on my emotions and made me wake up with the plan of attending the funeral of a friend's relative. Death's sting can be very painful in such a way that your emotions and personalities are placed in jeopardy.

My friend lost his aunt last weekend, a 32-year-old lady who just concluded her National Youth Service Corps program. No one expected such an imminent death, even though we are aware that death is inevitable.

1723325039458.jpg
picture of the dead. From her Facebook account

The only way I could extend comfort and sympathy to my grieving friend and his family was to be present and witness the burial of the aunt. My presence there was to comfort him and be by his side. It wasn't a loss that would easily be forgotten.

PXL_20240810_102313713.PORTRAIT.jpg

Leaving my house for his house with other sympathisers was just what we did. We had to spend quality time with him so the loss wouldn't be felt for long. My crew and I left for his house and took him to the funeral venue with his father as our forerunner in terms of location in the village.

The journey down there was quite a memorable one. Everywhere was just solemn. We had to mix feelings so as not to be overly carried away by the purpose of the event. The song "See you again" was played in the car. This song touched each and every one of us, but it was an assurance that the dead would be seen again someday during their resurrection.

When we got to the venue, we found a space in front, as we were friends of the relative. The coffin was just lying in front of us. The wailing was just intense. We had to be strong for them so they'd find comfort. The burial commenced with the chairman using the scriptures to provide words of comfort regarding the condition of the dead and the hope therein.

The bereaved were comforted with the assurance that they would see their dead loved one brought back to life in perfect health, as there's provision for a resurrection just as it was done in the past. This comfort also held firm that someday I'd be opportune to see my loved ones who have died again.

PXL_20240810_124246451.PORTRAIT.jpg

After these comforting words, a brief prayer was said, and the coffin was taken to the graveside. The pain, the sorrow, the torture. The atmosphere was just filled with grief. Why her?. Many are rejoicing about their new age, but we're mourning the loss of a golden treasure.

PXL_20240810_125130801.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_124840343.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20240810_124600519.PORTRAIT.jpg
The ground has eaten again. Promise, as it was her name, was buried with the hope of a resurrection. I can't relate because I've not witnessed the death of a close relative. This was my second time attending the funeral of a friend's relative.

Rejoicing with Those who Rejoice

In no time, we left there for another event, which I was invited to cover by substitution. It was a wedding. We had to go there and cheer up after weeping. Though I was the only person invited, I had to pack them along. We were among the early settlers. We arrived there in no time and secured slots for clear visuals.

PXL_20240810_134513502.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_134504149.PORTRAIT.jpg
PXL_20240810_134408317.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_134312661.PORTRAIT.jpg

While I did the coverage of the reception hall, my friends looked at me in amazement. The reception hall was lit, to be frank. We then waited for the bride and groom and their allies to arrive for the order of photography.

PXL_20240810_145036441.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_144604840.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_144116916.PORTRAIT.jpg

I was opportunely hired to do coverage of the order of photography. I was bent on capturing moments while the main photographer did the job. These are mind-blowing, unaware pictures of the bride and groom with their friends and relatives. The bride was just looking so beautiful from head to toe. The groom couldn't just stop staring at her for a second.

PXL_20240810_144517543.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_145622338.PORTRAIT.jpg
PXL_20240810_144434870.PORTRAIT.jpgThe handsome and beautiful couple

Her gown was just an expensive one; that's princessly. This was her major difficulty moving, though she had a bridesmaid. I couldn't wait for the wedding proper. They danced gracefully while I did come capturing and moments coverage. The wife did her best, hitting the stage with her vibes while the husband was just throwing his hands. I can relate.

PXL_20240810_153804006.PORTRAIT.jpg

Not all men are comfortable displaying their dancing skills, while most can't dance. The couple did dance well, for which I commended them. The DJ wasn't really giving us the vibes we expected. Luck shone on my face as others held me captive to give them mind-blowing shots as well. I had to turn up, though the weather was gloomy.

PXL_20240810_151930143.PORTRAIT (1).jpgCapturing one of my clients
PXL_20240810_152525875.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_152614679.PORTRAIT.jpg

The event was just a memorable one. We nearly forgot what happened earlier that day. While on the seat, we were given drinks and food to entertain our stomachs. The round table was just a cruise, as the people seated there were comical. We shared moments and vibes together.

This is a picture of me calculating the trade profits I missed with my students. We combined business and pleasure that day, so no one would suffer. Still, I lost a trade that would have given me substantial income because of covering the couples. The event ended in success, and that's how we were able to mix both sorrow and joy together. Joy did overshadow the sorrowful moments we had, though they were temporary.

PXL_20240810_160710135.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_135601693.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240810_164051690.jpg

I'll gladly say it was the best weekend I had last week. Tomorrow will make it a week old. What do you say? Ever mixed sorrow and joy together?

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 1

Congratulations!

THE QUEST TEAM has supported your post. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags


post.PNG

Curated by : @sduttaskitchen

I honestly do sympathize with the bereaved it's not good to hear about a young fulfilling lady to just kick the bucket like that, am sorry..... And I also wish I was in the wedding ceremony because it's been long I have been craving for wedding jollof rice.

 4 days ago 

Thank you for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community. We encourage you to keep posting quality content and support each other in the community.

It's indeed a day filled with both happy and sad moments. I am sorry for your friend's loss and congratulations to the happy couple!!


DescriptionInformation
Plagiarism Free
#steemexclusive
Bot Free
Support burnsteem25
Support Community or Charity-
Status ClubClub 5050
AI Article✅ Original (Human text!)
I invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59263.92
ETH 2580.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46