Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W3: A little bit of motivation can go a long way” by @benton3

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago

Polish_20220801_133902679.jpg

Warm welcome to you all my friends to this wonderful week. Hope we all had a great weekend.

This is the third week of steemit engagement contest and I am so happy to participate in it.

I am engaging in the challenge of this great community with the topic A little Bit of Motivation Can Go a Long Way

Personally this is a motivating and inspiring statement cum contest. It is also going to bring out that best in you during this trying times. I will start first by explaining 2 of the cartoon quotes.

IMG-20220608-WA0005.jpg

Pick TWO of these characters and tell us why you have picked it and what you see as the meaning of these words.

image.png
link

The first cartoon character quote I will be explaining is that of the blue fairy in Pinocchio which says Always let your conscience guide you.

This is a very strong statement because of its implications. The conscience was given to us by God to guide and direct us. Just like a compass helps one to know his direction, in the same way the conscience helps to guide us in the right way.

However, for our conscience to be a good guide we need to train it very well to ensure it is alive and healthy, Just like we protect and ensure our physical compass is ok.

When our conscience in filled with lovable and praiseworthy things, that is when it can guide us effectively, but when it is dead that it does not respond to wicked things being done. It will then not become a good guide to us.

For example, we know that stealing is bad, at the initial time we do it, our conscience will be prodding us, telling us that the act is bad. However, by the time we do not listen to it, such prodding will stop, at that point, it will start accepting stealing as a normal thing to do, therefore not providing the individual with the right guidance because it is dead.

Hence we need to constantly train our conscience in the right way so that it will be the amazing guide it should be to us.

The next quote is from Merida in the Brave which says Our fate lies within us, you only have to be brave enough to see it.

This is another good quote which reminds each one of us of the potential we all have. We all have the potential to achieve great things if only we see the hero that lies in us. It reminds me of the song of a pupular musician, Mariah Carey (HERO) which has part of it lyrics as ** The hero lies in you**.

Whenever, we feel down, discouraged, depressed or even feel we cannot accomplish a particular task, it is time for us to take a deep breath and tell ourselves, that the Hero to do this is in us.

Once we have such determination in us, the sky will be our limit.

IMG-20220608-WA0006.jpg

Do you think the statement “A little bit of motivation can go a long way” is true or false? Explain your answer.

The statement above is actually true. Many at times in life, we feel dejected and abandoned. We may work very hard with little or nothing to show for it. This situation can cause us to become lazy or stop doing things to improve in our life.

However, a nice soothing, encouraging and motivating words from a friend, can just be like "apples of gold on silver carvings", just the right words we need to spur us on and move ahead to our desired destination.

So a little of motivation can help us go a long way.

IMG-20220608-WA0007.jpg

Why is motivation important to you as a person?

Everyone needs encouragement and motivation because we face anxious moments every day. I am no exception to that. The pressure to provide for those under your roof is overwhelming, especially in a bad economy. So I need such motivation to push on, moving from strength to strength.

This gives me the support I also need to check out other areas which I have not ventured into before. It also increases my confidence level and my determination to persevere knowing that success will result from my activities one day.

IMG-20220608-WA0006.jpg

Do you motivate others? Give two examples

Yes is the answer, I personally love motivating others especially younger ones. I have had several instances that I have done so.

The first example is that of a younger friend who was in school. The familys economic situation was really in a mess. The parents could not afford the tuition fees, feeding money was difficult, plus other miscellaneous expenses encountered in a tertiary institution.

He wanted to drop out of school during the second year. However, I encouraged him not to, gave him examples of little things he can do to earn small money. I also supported him to the extent I can. With this motivation, he did not drop out of school again and finished his degree course.

Today he is working in one of the big financial institutions in my country and living happily with his wife and children.

The second example is about a fellow steemian (@eliany) . Having lost her job, she had nothing doing. I encouraged her with my wife to come and join us in steemit. I had to prod her a lot before she finally joined. Today, she is enjoying her stay in steemit and she is always grateful that I encouraged her to do so.

IMG-20220608-WA0006.jpg

What habits can you create to increase motivating yourself?

I have to be self-discipline, and allocating activities based on their priorities, not wasting time on frivolities. I also need to have a modest view of myself. Knowing the things and I can do and pushing on headlong. I will also learn the habit of evaluating my goals and see whether I am still in the right course or need to make some adjustments.

Perseverance, determination and passion to learn more are also among the habit I need to cultivate to always motivate myself.

Conclusion

This topic have really given me time to me an evaluation of myself while writing this contest. It came just at the right time since many are considering quitting the platform. This will also be a motivation to continue and be rejuvenated once more.

I invite @eliany, @ngoenyi and @madilyn02 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08

Curated by @deepak94

SteemCor07 - Lifestyle Curation Team

 2 years ago 

Motivation is both costly and scarce. Just wish it were free. Nicely adumbrated. Hope I can join this contest too. A little motivation can go a long way 😂

 2 years ago 

Sure you can join in the contest. Thanks so much prof.

 2 years ago 

A lot of suicide stories we have heard happened because of lack of motivation. There must be reasons for the motivation and only when you move with the right people will you be motivated to continue.

I am glad the eliany took the advice we gave her to join steemit then, I remember how demotivated she was when she lost her job. It's good to meet the right people in life.

You have written well about motivation and I applaud your entry. It is a great one. Success in your entry and thanks for the invite.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for going through my post.

 2 years ago 

Well done, I agree with a lot of things by you’ve mentioned here. When one’s motivated, confidence level increases which is a crucial factor in facing challenges. Also, self discipline as you’ve mentioned, is an essential habit to keep one constantly motivated.
Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for stopping by. It really makes me feel happy.

 2 years ago 

Hola amigo @benton3 👋

Me gustó esta frase que usas en tu publicacion:

Una vez que tengamos tal determinación en nosotros, el cielo será nuestro límite.

Realmente todos somos capaces de automotivarnos de diversas formas pero en ocasiones no sabemos lo valientes que podemos llegar a ser si nos lo proponemos.

Decir yo si puedo puedo enviar fuertes señales a nuestros cerebro para empezar a trabajar de manera exitosa.

Buena publicacion, me gusto leerte, saludos 🤗

 2 years ago 

Thank you for taking time out to go through publication. Really appreciates.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Hi!

I think your explanation of consciousness training is very accurate. You reminded me of a composition class in which I explained rationalization as a logical fallacy to my students; as beings endowed with the ability to speak in articulate language, we humans are capable of providing truculent and stupid explanations, to the point of tricking ourselves (our conscience). For example, "I can steal from this store because the owners have more money than me and so I need and deserve this more than they do"; with explanations like this, we are conditioning our mind to validate reprehensible behaviors like this. Not only people with psychopathic personality disorders have problems of conscience, of ethics; also mentally healthy people can make themselves develop a disorder after much rationalization.

I was delighted to read your post, @benton3. Best of luck :)

 2 years ago 

Thanks sis for making out time to go through my post. We really need to train our conscience so that it guides us on the right path.

 2 years ago 

Greeting to you sir,
Truly we all need encouragement and motivation to keep pushing harder, there are a lot of challenges we face day in and day out, sometimes we often want to give up, but with motivation from within or someone, we can be geared up and continue grinding till we achieve our goal,

Thanks for sharing
Best of luck

 2 years ago 

Appreciate your going through my post

 2 years ago 

You are welcome sir

thank you for visiting my blog. I admit your article is very interesting.

From some points you said very good and easy for me to understand. Success always for you

 2 years ago 

When our conscience in filled with lovable and praiseworthy things, that is when it can guide us effectively

I totally agree with this. It is when our heart is full of happiness and love that we can even make the right decisions. So it is important.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for.your response. I sincerely appreciates it.

 2 years ago 

My pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34