You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contest | 25-Word-Comment - Monkey Business | Prizes Divided - 6 Steem

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 months ago

This indeed weighs heavily on the minds of contest organizers and troubles them more than the participants. Consider their burden: they gather funds to finance the contest, then use their creativity to formulate it, and finally, fairly determine the winners.

Steemit's most fundamental spirit : originality and creativity. But, "If everyone is already original and creative (and complies with all contest prerequisites and conditions), then how?" I think organizers surely have the intuition (that should be respected) as a group capable of comparing quality (that's why judges are called "Your Honor"). Therefore, I agree more with rewards being distributed based on quality ranking.

Sort:  

This dilemma for sure lives among the Steemians they are here to earn. That's why they join contests.

By far not e eryone is creative how I wish that was true. Now you mention creativity I wonder if the contests killed all creativity by setting all those rules and asking questions. It feels to me that host who doing this believe the average Steemian is too stupid to have an opinion. Can we still think? Dare we to see what bothers us? Do we feel we have to shut up and apologize?

Quality wins, and quality is what the host believes it is. To me it is creativity/art.
If quality wins this also means one person can win two or three times per month, right?

Rules Kill
Rules might kill creativity. I agree. But I also think, rules are important , therefore rules should be designed to guide contestants to stay within boundaries while also ensuring they do not kill creativity.

Win And Win Again
In my opinions, everyone deserves to win every time they beat another contestants in a fair fight. And if the hosts started to feel "bored" of them, I think the hosts have all the rights to banned them from any contest, permanently or temporarily.

I remember a once very popular comment contest on Steemit, if I'm not mistaken it was called the "Steemit Engagement Contest", run by @paulag. This contest ran for quite a while and underwent several rule changes. At one point, due to certain individuals consistently winning the contest,@paulag changed the contest policy: this week winners will not be eligible to participate in the following week.

Yep

A dilemma it is.

I don't know about banning from a contest. If the host is bored it's better to take a break. It's time consuming the hosting, reading, commenting, payments, administration and if it's combined with boring... 😓

Lately we "all" seem to remember @paulag 😁 I joined and was for longer in the top 3, more than once #1 and that while using a phone. I wanted to proof back then that smartphone users aren't the ones writing just a few words. It's from that period I write underneath my posts" I'm a smartphine user only".

A dilemma it is and will always be and in the end the best give up and say: you can skip me and next they leave.

What I meant about "getting bored" is about the winner, "it's you again, I want someone else". Haha. If it was about the contest, my suggestion would be the same, take a break.

I can never forget @paulag. She had done so much for our small and struggling community at that time. She and her co-witness Asher ( @abh12345 ).

Ah, okay. Well It is YOU again ... enjoy your price!

*laughing hard here, it is the 2nd time you made me laugh hard .. 😂

Who have thought I can be entertaining. I will figure out in time if we share the same humour. 🙃

Where did @paulag go?

It's been a while since I lost contact with her. We're on different universe now. Maybe I should try to wave at her thru Discord and say Hi.

It's time consuming the hosting, reading, commenting, payments, administration and if it's combined with boring...

Yeah. That's it. You, wakeupkitty, tell me what really has been driving you to create all those contests.

Good question, most likely the hope to inspire people to write better but most of all reward those who can write. It feels bitter to me the creative minds are left out. I keep bumping into that, although they are the once making the difference and platforms a better place. Steemit wonders why people invest many hours for free on Youtube and facecbook? Well it clearly lives more. Here it's drawin behing the lines while locked into a small box dealing with more rules than one ever thought possible. Steemit seems to forget that people want fun, interaction and enjoy their spare time. The same counts for me. It's way too serious here, all the talent left and those still here hide since they had it with...

... people want fun, interaction and enjoy their spare time.

I knew that you had it in you. The understanding.

the hope to inspire people to write

Yep. Worked for me so far. But what does it mean for you that people get inspired? What's in it for you?

 2 months ago (edited)

Something good to read/see? Something that brightens up my life and keep my brains busy if not triggered?

The circle of people who do is small here and getting smaller since those who fascinate or trigger me or I have something in common with I speak more outside Steemit.

So what does this mean? Again other social media beats Steemit because this wordjunk rather spends time elsewhere with like minded than on Steemit.

Also... time is limited so off line with me means limited time on this platform.

❤️

sorry, Steemit I take the good creative ones away

Getting triggered is not always bad. Or is t?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37