Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE17 days ago (edited)
Introduction
Greetings, my fellow Steemian. It is a joy to participate in this contest organized by @goodybest.

what is your indigenous language, is it your country's office language, and can your kids speak the language?.

low-angle-group-friends-dressed-carnival_23-2148825074.jpgsource

I am an indigen of Nigeria.Ibibio is my indigenous language, but English is our official language. I am from southern Nigeria, specifically Akwa Ibom state, although English is the official language.In southern Nigeria, Akwa Ibom, we have order languages such as oron, Annang, and Eket, however Ibibio is my primary native language.

Furthermore, because Ibibio is my indigenous language, I have used it since I was born. I learned it from my parents and relatives, and I have a cousin who lives in Igbo land, and his children can properly speak our original language, Ibibio. I am proud of the language. As for my children, who have not yet been born, I plan to teach them how to speak my native language, which I learnt from my parents. When I get them .

Screenshot_20240622-133951_1.pngsource

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?.

Nigeria is my nation, and there are many cultures and traditions that are practiced there. Respecting seniors is a cultural tradition in Nigeria, with the proverb "Grey hair is a crown for beauty when found in the way of righteousness." So in Nigeria, we respect older people and take care of their needs.
Farming is one of Nigerians' traditions; we cultivate crops and raise animals for human consumption, and various cultures in Nigeria celebrate festivals, such as the New Yam Festival in Igbo.

In Nigeria, people marry to start their own families, regardless of cultural background. However, in every culture in Nigeria, the groom pays the bride's price.

Religion: In Nigeria, people believe in the existence of God, regardless of their religion (Christian or Islamic), and they value freedom of worship.

In Nigeria, each tribe has unique and delicious dishes, but I want to talk about my own tribe southern Nigeria,we have delicacy sure as Afang soup, Editan, Atama soup, Afia efere usong ikpong/Afia efere usong udia (white soup served with yam or cocoyam), Edikan Ikon soup, vegetables rice, coconut rice, salad rice, pepper soup rice, Ator mboro recipe, Ekpang nkukwo, Edita iwa, asa IWA, asa Akpakpa, and more.

Nigeria celebrates national holidays such as Independence Day, Workers Day, Christmas, Children's Day, Democracy Day, and Easter Id_el Kabir as part of its traditions.

Greeting patterns vary across Nigerian ethnic groups.Like Ibibio culture prostate or Neel, same with Yaruba, then the Igbo handshake, bending or kissing the head or feet of an elder, and the Hausa and Fulani greetings involve squatting and kneeling.

Language Ethics communities in Nigeria speak diverse languages.The main languages spoken in Nigeria are Hausa, Igbo, and Yoruba.The order languages are Efik, Ibibio, Fula, Tiv, Edo, Igbo, Annang, Ekoi, and Jukun, among others.

All of these traditions in Nigeria can be preserved through story telling, oral history, cultural teachings, and organizing a community event where you can teach about our traditions. Thank you for reading my post. I welcome @liany, @jeph001, and @jozzie90 to join the contest.thanks

Sort:  
 17 days ago 

You are saying the truth, you have mentioned many traditions in our country Nigeria and the most important one is respect for elders, it is good for parents to teach their children all of that.

Thanks,I really appreciate for the support

 16 days ago 

You are welcome.

Loading...

We support quality posts and good comments Published in any community and any tag.
Curated by : @eliany

 12 days ago 

Hi dear it's good to read your wonderful entry, Yes we love our language and hope to pass our traditions to our children because our culture is our identity. Success!

I really appreciate your comment on my post thanks alot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28