#CLUB100 || BLOOD CAMP ORGANIZED BY PATIENT'S WELFARE ASSOCIATION || STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE || THE DIARY GAME

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 years ago (edited)

title.jpeg

Patient's Welfare Association (PWA) is one of the largest non-profit blood supply banks in Karachi. PWA provides services to Dr. Ruth Pfau's government hospital all free of cost. They collect blood donations for thalassemia patients. Thalassemia patients need a constant transfusion of blood due to the incapability of their vascular system to produce blood.
The blood bank of PWA had a drastic decline in blood donations due to the rise in Covid-19 cases. To meet the demands of the constant blood supply, PWA arranged a blood donation camp at Dow University of health sciences.

1.jpeg

2.jpeg

3.jpeg


Being a volunteer of this purposeful association, I gave my full services during this camp. The camp was arranged for two days. We made the camp arrangements prior to the arrival of donors. The medical staff was set up to check the donor's blood for any transmittable disease. Balloons, props, and decorations were set up to make the place more attractive. All the volunteers were given a volunteer ID and were assigned different duties

4.jpeg

5.jpeg

6.jpeg


I along with my fellow volunteers encouraged people to donate blood. We told them how our organization works for the betterment of health conditions in Pakistan and how their single donation could save at least three lives.

7.jpeg

8.jpeg


One of my friends also donated blood. He was assigned a donation number and then upon his turn, his medical checkup was held. His body weight, hemoglobin, and disease clearance test were held which took only a couple of minutes. After the donation, he was given juices to get over the feelings of dehydration and dizziness.

9.jpeg

10.jpeg

11.jpeg

12.jpeg


At the end of the day, group photos were captured for the media to create awareness among people for this noble cause.
PWA almost gathered 300+ bleeds in those two days due to the untiring efforts of the volunteers and the organizers. The blood bank is now once again operational and the thalassemia patients hope is more alive than ever.

13.jpeg

14.jpeg

15.jpeg

16.jpeg


Volunteering for PWA was one of the best decisions of my life. Looking closely at people's lives and working for the betterment of society is one of the main reasons that made me opt for medical. I hope someday I'll bring a positive change to society through my efforts.

17.jpeg

18.jpeg


So that's it for today. I really enjoyed my day at the blood camp. I hope you also enjoyed reading my diary, if yes, do let me know in the comment section. I'll come again with a new diary.

Thanks


My power in last 30 days

last.jpeg


I appreciate everyone who took the time to help me achieve my goal, especially steemcurator01 and steemcurator02. As a result, I pledge my complete support to #club75 and now to #club100 and pledge to use my voting power to effectively vote for good material. I now have 8.5K Effective Steem Power which is I'm using to give votes to minnows. Being a dolphin, my next target is #doubledolphin. I hope I may achieve that soon.


regards,
@abdu.navi03

Sort:  

please do an acceptance post for 5th place for #SPUD4STEEM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30