#CLUB 100 || PATIENT'S WELFARE ASSOCIATION || FIGHT AGAINST THALLASEMIA IN PAKISTAN || STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 years ago (edited)

title.jpeg


Patient's Welfare Association (PWA) is one of the largest blood supply banks in Karachi. A few days ago, the members of the PWA held an orientation session at DMC for the recently enrolled batch of MBBS. It was one of the most informative sessions I've attended.

1.jpeg


The session was held by the Second year volunteer student of MBBS. It started with the recitation of the Holy Quran and the National anthem. They laid in front of us the whole journey of PWA, its aims, goals, and purposes.

PWA was started by Dr. Abdul Bari for thalassemia patients suffering from constant blood deficiency. Thalassemia patients have less than a normal amount of hemoglobin in their bodies, so they need a constant blood transfusion.

PWA provides services to Dr. Ruth Pfau government hospital all free of cost. They own a blood bank that provides blood to patients in dire need. PWA's Voluntary Blood Bank has grown to become the country's largest single-outlet blood bank, with a daily production of roughly 270 blood bags, thanks to years of hard work and commitment.

2.jpeg

The main goal of PWA is to eradicate thalassemia from Pakistan, ensure the screening of blood for thalassemia major and minor, and help build a community that looks after each other in times of need.

All the students of the batch were taken for a tour at the thalassemia center organized by PWA. We went there in the form of groups.

4 new.jpeg

3.jpeg

4.jpeg


Our first stop was the input room, where patients came when in need of blood in case of emergency or whatsoever. The patient's family is asked to provide a donor of any blood group to maintain their blood bank.

6.jpeg

7.jpeg

The next was the blood donation room where they had a complete setup for blood donation. The donors are asked a few family medical-related history before taking the blood sample. The blood samples are collected prior to donation to look out for other diseases that spread through blood.

8.jpeg

9.jpeg

10.jpeg


The samples are then sent to the screening lab which was our next visiting stop. It had all kinds of screening machines including centrifugation machines, HIV and hepatitis screening machines. The five major screenings are done before donations include HIV, Hepatitis A and B, Malaria, syphilis, and diabetes.

12.jpeg

13.jpeg

14.jpeg


After screening, and getting negative results, the donor's blood is collected and the patient is being provided with the blood bag requested. We visited their blood bank where all the blood bags are kept at a certain temperature and are being counted. One bag of blood can save three lives.

11.jpeg


We also visited their conference room where they gave us a brief overview of how things at PWA work. PWA is a 24/7 service and encourages people to donate blood out of humanity. They issue a monthly magazine to spread awareness among the society about the increasing thalassemia cases and about how we can stop them or help the ones who are suffering.

15.jpeg

16.jpeg

Our last stop was the children's care center PWA established. We engaged with the children, interviewed them, and enjoyed ourselves a lot. One of them who caught almost everyone's eye was Abdul Hadi, who owned a youtube channel.

17.jpeg


It was such an encouraging session, I myself joined the association right away to provide my services as a volunteer and to serve humanity.

Fight Against Thalassemia

5.jpeg


So that's it for today. I really enjoyed my day at the University. I hope you also enjoyed reading my diary, if yes, do let me know in the comment section. I'll come again with a new diary.

Thanks


My power in last 4 Months (Since I joined Steemit)

note.jpeg


I appreciate everyone who took the time to help me achieve my goal, especially steemcurator01 and steemcurator02. As a result, I pledge my complete support to #club75 and now to #club100 and pledge to use my voting power to effectively vote for good material. I now have 6K Effective Steem Power which is I'm using to give votes to minnows. Being a dolphin, my next target is #doubledolphin. I hope I may achieve that soon.


regards,
@abdu.navi03

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I see your post is interesting, I like your post, friends, good luck, friends.
#club100

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30