What I have learned lately on steemit by @rubilu123

in Steem Marketing3 years ago


image.png

P


Before I start, i will like to give appreciation to @mcsamm for this wonderful contest.

It is a great opportunity for all of us to learn about steemit platform.
I know some people have been on the platform for a while but everyday we keep in discovering new things and new ways of doing things on the platform.

And it gives me great joy to be able to share some of my discoveries with you guys.

To start with, tagging people have always been a great way to alert people of your post.
It was recently that I realized that tagging more than ten people will not notify them.
I normally check mentions using the steemworld tool because most of my mentions did not come as notifications and then I asked before I was told that when someone mentions more than ten people it wont notify you.

It still amuses me anytime I remember that it was recently I realised that you could actually drag and drop a picture in the editor and it will be uploaded.

This sometimes makes me laugh because what I always do is to copy and paste or I always use the "selecting them".
The nice part about this is that I was actually thought by a newbie I signed up recently.

The other thing I will talk about is actually about the signup page.
It was recently that I realized that a persons username is denied only if someone else has that username on the platform.
I got to know about this when I started promoting steem recently and as you know when promoting some people do get interested and they will want to join so I had to sign them up.

I once had a problem with one of my post.
I made a post and after days no one had commented on it, neither was there a vote.
I was so surprised and then I realized that I posted it on my blog.
I then realised that posting content on your blog only allows your followers to see it and your intended audience will not be able to see it.

Maybe I want to make a post about football, this post should be made in the world of football community, my followers will see it and then people who are in the world of football community will also see it, capturing a wide range of audience.

Formatting has always been a great way to make your work appealing to the one reading your work.

So we are always advised to give a lot if paragraphs in our write ups to make it simple to the ones reading.

What I mostly did was to just use the enter button and give a lot of gap between my text but I realised that it did not really give the space I wanted when I out picture in between text and not to confuse the reader I had to find a way of giving the necessary gap I needed.

So then I found out about the(< br >) function.
This is a great way of giving an even space between your picture and text so that the reader realizes that the picture is not related to the next paragraph.

Now the next one might actually sound silly but it is quite important.
Recently I was making a post using my laptop and then I mistakenly cancelled the page I was typing on and so as you know the editor too got cancelled.

I was panicking because it took a lot of time to actually put together what I was writing.
So after opening my browser again I then pressed on the pen tool at the write top corner and my work opened up again.
It was there and then that I realised that the save to draft we always see after writing for a while actually helps save hour write up so even after your page is cancelled you can get what you wrote back.

Now the next I want to talk about is not a discovery, but it is something which has helped me.

Consistency is key to being successful on steemit.
I know we sometimes get discouraged by the amount of upvotes we get and sometimes some of our post have not suppport at all but keep on doing what you love nad one day it will pay off.
It happens when you least expect it to happen and then you will see that you will start enjoying steemit.

And i encourage all of us to partake in contests a lot.
They expose us to things we did not think was possible and in the end we are the beneficiaries.

One other thing I deem very important is powering up your steem.
Powering up doesn't hurt you but rather you are the one whi benefits from it,when I upvote smeone and the person gets a notification I feel some kind of happiness; I dont know why but this is what gives me the omotivation to power up.

Powering up and voting also helps the one voting to claim curation rewards and this in the long run benefits the one with a lot of steempower.
People who have a lot of steempower do not even need to power up most of the time as the curation rewards they are significant.

This is a few of what I have learned on steemit, I know as time goes on there are always great things to learn and new things to learn on this platform as the platform is very broad and it doens't matter how long you have been on the platform.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

it is good for your discovery, but you may know more markdowns that are available for your use.

hahaha
Yes I know more, but most of them were discovered long ago.

Congratulations...!!! You Got Upvote
By: PromoSteem Community

Alternative links delegates to @promosteem.com
50100200300400500
10002000300040005000
10000

Thanks very much.

 3 years ago 

great discovery, well elaborated, thanks for sharing

am glad I could.
Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52