Steemit Weekly - print tests

in Steem Marketing3 years ago (edited)

Update: working on newspaper

Since my last update two days ago, I have tested few extra solutions and learned about:

  • positioning photos on the press

I have checked in several newspapers how to locate photos in relation to headlines or columns. It varies, depends on character of the newspaper. I will be following the rules which are characteristic for more formal newspapers, avoiding tabloid related photo arrangement.

  • highlighting quotes in additional columns

The most important task of these inserts is to draw the reader's attention to the valuable content. I tested several versions, some with a light gray background, others with different font. In the end, I opted for a font that is twice the size of the standard text, bold with a slight shadow, and no background.

  • adding hidden links in PDF version of newspaper

Links won't be marked in any way, so printing version will look like a standard text. In e-version every article title will contain hidden link so when user will click it, it will direct them to the article on steemit.


I updated table of contents, edited few cover details, made the research about good and cheap places where my newspaper can be printed.


Challenge for today



Now I have to choose how "Steemit weekly" will be printed and I need your opinion, as my testing group is divided almost exactly half-half between two options.

I printed 6 versions of the newspaper:
1️⃣ A4 size (printed on A3 paper shifts) Black&white
2️⃣ A5 size (printed on A4 paper shifts) Black&white
3️⃣ A4 size, cover colour, other b&w
4️⃣ A5 size, cover colour, other b&w
5️⃣ A4 size all in colour
6️⃣ A5 size all in colour

I'm sure that I will be printing it all in colour. It's a bit more expensive but looks much more professional.
I still don't know what format should I choose.
Check the first photo in this article once again. You will notice that one print has more vivid colours (especially logo). I will be using only that machine to make sure it's printed in the highest quality.

Price is very important. If printing newspaper will be expensive, it will be more difficult to motivate other users to do it. I have limited financial resources, I will spend 25% of my income from newspaper or at least5 SBD weekly for printing. If the cost of print will be lower, I will be able to print more copies. I have to remember that quality is important as well - low quality product will not convince too many people to join the platform.

To cut the cost I have chosen standard type of paper: A4-90g or A3-80g.

Printing the cover without margins requires more professional machines and it's expensive. I have decided to print it with the smallest possible margins and cut them off in the cutting machine. If I will be printing the newspaper weekly in the same place, cutting service will be gratis.


Pros and cons of different solutions



A5 (smaller)
✅ Lower cost of print
✅ Easier to print (requires A4 shifts, users could even print it at home)
✅ As photos are smaller, have higher DPI
⛔ as photos are smaller, it's difficult to see what's on them
⛔ looks a bit like brochure
⛔ it's more difficult to notice it

A4 (bigger)
✅ looks more like a newspaper
✅ easy to notice from the distance
✅ more text per page
✅ bigger photos
⛔ higher cost of print
⛔ requires some update*

Right now text is in three columns which works perfectly for A5 size but columns are too wide for A4. I would have to make 4 or 5 of them.

Font size is "6" per A5 and "12" per A4.
"6" in A5 looks okay, "12" in A4 is too big. I would have to test "10", "8" or even "6" in A4.

Chosing if someone wants to print "Steemit Weekly" in color or b&w is an individual choice, but the size of the newspaper must be determined before it is published, as I have to distribute text in different way for A4 and in deferent way for A5.


Cost of print in Argentina



Cost of print is different in every country. I assume it's obvious. In Argentina, Rosario cost of colour print of 4 pages (1 shift both sides) is 100 pesos for bigger version and 55 pesos for smaller version.

First editions will contain 12 - 16 pages.

Cost of:8 pages12 pages16 pages
Big newspaper colour200 ARS
1,33 USD
300 ARS
2,00 USD
400 ARS
2,66 USD
Big newspaper B&W
cover in colour
105 ARS
0,70 USD
140 ARS
0,91 USD
175 ARS
1,14 USD
Small newspaper colour110 ARS
0,73 USD
165 ARS
1,07 USD
220 ARS
1,46 USD
Small newspaper B&W
cover in color
65 ARS
0,42 USD
105 ARS
0,70 USD
145 ARS
0,94 USD

As the USD cost is based on dollar blue rate, it chan be a bit different each week.

Assuming that I'll be selling my SBD per 6 USD, I'll have at least 30 USD for print each week. It would allow me to print approx 15 newspapers of A4 size or 28 of A5 size

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

you are doing good and keep it up. But do you think the text in B&W will be okay?

 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you!

I'm going to print in color anyway, as B&W doesn't look so elegant. My only concern right now is if I should print it in A4 or A5 size.

In the future I would like to embrace other users to print it at home and distribute in their countries/cities. I know that B&W is cheaper to print and some of steemians have very difficult financial situation so it will be up to them if they will print it in colour or grey scale. I believe in that case B&W is still better than nothing ;)

Excellent @papi.mati personally I prefer the option 4 if you are going to print them. My best wishes to your project! 💪🏼

 3 years ago 

Great job @papi.mati. I wish I could buy one!!

 3 years ago 

It will be available for free in few weeks 🙌🏽 Thanks for comment!

Congratulations...!!! You Got Upvote
By: PromoSteem Community

Alternative links delegates to @promosteem.com
50100200300400500
10002000300040005000
10000

 3 years ago 

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79