What I have learned lately on steemit by @lhorgic.

in Steem Marketing3 years ago

Am glad to be part of this contest organized by @mcsamm .I actually love it because it's giving me an opportunity to share how much I've learnt about this awesome platform.
I can still call myself a newbie on this platform as I've not spent up to 6month here but I've been able to explore and gather some stuffs that are worthy of reading and consideration. Below are my discoveries explained under different sub headings.

149f17180537098f729bea7f4be451ce.jpg

Image Source

STEEMIT WITNESS.
I discovered that there are some set of people on this blockchain called steemit "witness" funny right..I've taken my time to explore things that are not directly my business here. But the truth is how will you be in a place and don't know how things work there,you'll be very ignorant and uninformed,you might even end up struggling so much without making tangible progress.

Now let me explain my little findings about this people.
Since steemit is built on a blockchain,there is a need for new block to be created for the blockchain to be active and grow,and here is where the witness come in.They help build these blocks using consensus algorithm and the one peculiar to steemit is the DPoS (Delegated proof of stake) algorithm. There are about or more than 20 active witness on this platform who are saddles with the responsibility to mine blocks every 63 seconds. A witness who successfully carry out the mining process is rewarded with steem.
Another duty of these witness is to
determine the price of STEEM/USD on the blockchain since they operate via the witness server.
My research continues though because I know there is still more to these people,I just felt like sharing little of my discoveries.

VOTING POWER.
I just discovered lately how to check the strenght of one's voting power,many of us just vote without any effect on the post voted on,I hope we know that SP determines how weighty our vote is but how do you even check the strenght of your SP whether your SP can vote at all or how much more you need for you voting to carry weight. This votes are rated up to 100%. Many old user don't even know how to use the tool I will be showing us shortly.I will be showing us screenshots of what I'm saying here.

Log in to https://steemworld.org/@lhorgic
Just replace the username with yours and access the site.

Screenshot_20210529-063634.png

From the picture above you can see that my 100% voting weight is 0.00

Screenshot_20210529-063735.png

Here is the breakdown of the votes in percentage.

You can also determine what amount of SP that can make your vote count,I've tried it out,the least is 500SP which will give you 0.01,anything below that will amount to 0.00
See steps (screenshot) below.

Step 1:Click on simulate SP

Screenshot_20210529-063253.png

Step 2: fill in the amount of SP you're aiming at.

Screenshot_20210529-063338.png

Step 3: Check out the results.

Screenshot_20210529-063508.png

So with this you can know how far you're from voting and getting curation reward and to determine for yourself target of what you want your voting power to look like.

HOW SOME COMMUNITIES BECAME RICH AND NOTABLE ON STEEMIT.

I've noticed that the Chinese and Korean communities are one of the richest on steemit,my observation though,I've been following some of the post of their members for sometime now and see the kind of massive support they get. I learnt that these guys don't sell out their steems and Sbd like many of us do.They save it up in the community account,it could be as low as 10 steem weekly for a year,they do this willfully because they know it will be used to curate their contents and it going to be for a very long time I.e as long as they are on the blockchain,they can even power down when the Community SP have successfully multiply itself through curation reward. This is what we call crowd funding,building a strong Community SP is possible with crowd and especially when they are seeing the future advantage and not just the present benefit and they are reaping it today including many other Community on this blockchain who is also practicing this. There's is this saying "little drops of water makes a mighty ocean". This is how they get their heavy upvotes.
Don't forget I said it's my discovery,I might just be wrong and I stand to be corrected.

POST/CONTENT SUBMISSION.
Until lately,I never knew communities submit post for curation to booming and the steemcurators, I thought they come by themselves to curate all the post I see upvoted in all the communities visited. I should have known if I was observant enough,I mean how would the limited number of curators on the blockchain curate every post I see upvoted if there wasn't any form of help on the path of the community admin to help out with the process.
Thanks to some exceptional individuals on the blockchain with tangible voting power who also help out with curations.
It's a good thing to know that apart from the fact that curators come around to curate,admin also selects quality post from the community to support and encourage the authors.

CONSISTENCY.
This cannot be overemphasized,you can't really do well or become notable on this blockchain without being consistent with the activities carried out here. There are times you will feel unnoticed,you even feel your post ain't been read by anyone and of course no upvote or rewards. This is not the time to give up,it's the time to actually put in more effort,it won't be long before you're noticed for your good works. Support the blockchain like you built it,promote it like it's your business,write and post quality and educative contents and also do well to help newbies gain ground on the blockchain,if you do all these consistently,you will become influencial with time.

These are my discoveries so far,am still going to be making more discoveries as learning never ends, in fact the day we stop learning is the very day we start dying gradually like a wise man once said.

Thanks for reading through.

Cc:@mcsamm

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks for adding up your discovery. I hope it helps others to learn something good for their development.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33