CONTEST: "My grandmother and grandfather": Week #1 –What they were like!

in SteemFamily3 years ago

Blessings to you all @steemfamily,

What a pleasure posting in here for the first, i hope i am very welcome.

Talking about the topic for the week, it brought smiles on my face seeing it, grandparents are such precious gems that we may not realize untill....

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81RgueeN2E4x433n3KH2Tu3p2vrBb971hqgPmCRWQPNSCprUeVnnJqpPGohQApkA6TRn92gTgPc6p32US1y9Wge2.png

I grew up to know my maternal grandparents.
On my paternal side, they had long passed on even before i was born.

My grandmother and grandfather were epitome of joy, love and care. You cannot just have a bad or moody day when they are around, impossible! They made every minute count.

My grandfather was a tall lanky man, he didn't really stay long with me #sad. He passed on five years ago. He spent his youthful days as a fisherman and still had the graceful build. I'd tell you the much i can gather of him, bad enough, i didn't get to have a shot with him, life is really too short to procrastinate...seize the moment.

Grandma seldom came visiting unlike mama who was always everywhere. Precisely he came visiting just twice, first during my older sister's convocation from school, and the next time was after much persuasion from both my parents.

While he was around, he would crack a joke from time to time, advise us to be studious and strive to make it in life....hugs grands, i see heaven smiling.

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81RgueeN2E4x433n3KH2Tu3p2vrBb971hqgPmCRWQPNSCprUeVnnJqpPGohQApkA6TRn92gTgPc6p32US1y9Wge2.png

Screenshot_20220204-143144.png

My grandmother, mama as we all fondly call her on the other hand was a no- nonsense woma. Forget the grey hair, she would whoop your ass if you misbehaved. She is a disciplinarian and a teacher. Mama is very full of life, no dull moments. She comes to visit more as can't stay for long without seeing her grandchildren #wink

Mama has been very much present in our lives, that i am grateful for, not everyone is lucky.
She made sure we fed and rested well, she lavished so much care and attention on me.

Screenshot_20220204-143442.png

Screenshot_20220204-143117.png

Whilst coming from the village, she ensured to bring lots and lots of foodstuffs.

My grandmother never gets tired of talking, she is a huge chatterbox_ ha_ha
I took those shots on one of my visits to my grandmother, she was so excited...much love grams...💗

photo Credit: Min
cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81RgueeN2E4x433n3KH2Tu3p2vrBb971hqgPmCRWQPNSCprUeVnnJqpPGohQApkA6TRn92gTgPc6p32US1y9Wge2.png

Grateful for this opportunity to reminisce on these sweet memories @mamamasha

My friends please participate:
@chinadizi
@ndianabasi
@rachelrick

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you for sharing your memories

 3 years ago 

Thank you for sharing this post with us in this community. Grandparents are indeed gifts and I love the way they cherish their grandchildren. They all have same characteristics everywhere.

Hugs

 3 years ago 

@sikan-eyen! Thank you for sharing your grandmother's story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66