Crazy Family Stories // Unexpected Discovery // The Secret

in SteemFamily3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone. I really dont know how to make this short. I feel like there is so much to tell. Anyway.. yeah welcome to my crazy family stories.

Growing up.. it was just knowing my mom's side. We were never introduced to Dad's side. We only had our scheduled visits and he never even stayed overnight. We never questioned it though. As long as he was being responsible to us. And it was ok not knowing Dad's relatives. Back then i'd been thinking... Maybe he wasnt staying with us because.. we were the other family. 😞 Although we were informed that he had to stay in a different place cause of his work. Eventually they separated. Mom went abroad and had another. Dad took care of us. He did his best being a single parent.

Decades passed. I received a call from an unknown number. I was asked how am i related to Mr. Xxxxx. "May i know why?" I said. And she uttered "He already passed away." My heart stopped after hearing those words. She told me that there were only 2 contacts in his phone and asked who am I? I told her that "He is our dad." . She introduced herself as our cousin then expressed that we should have a communication and to go to dad's wake. We went a couple of days after.

The biggest surprise for them.. My dad didnt tell his relatives that we exist. He was the youngest in his family. They were shocked that their little brother has 2 kids. Btw we were adults then. They thought we were kids like 12y/o below 😂

To my great surprise, we're his only family. All along i thought that he has other family or kids but it was just me and my brother. What a relief. He never had another girlfriend or wife other than mom. They were never married though. No wonder their separation was so chill. No paper stress!

Im still perplexed as to why he didnt tell them until his last breath. My cousin said that when he was going in to cardiac arrest he didnt lose grip of his phone. He held on it hard until he passed. I felt like he intended to keep us as his secret. He had his phone with him and didnt informed us that he was sick. He never did tell if he isnt feeling when even when we were growing up.

Im just glad that his relatives didnt treat us different up to now.

Crazy Family Stories Contest was made possible by @alena-vladi.

#crazyfamily #steemfamily #steemitexclusive #philippines #club5050

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Oh, that is unexpected indeed. I imagine how astonished his relatives were. I know even a story when the man has two families and both families don't know about each other. Unfortunately things like this happen. Thanks for sharing this story with us!

Youre welcome. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65