CONTEST! Crazy Family Stories // Unexpected Discovery // by @operashoujo

in SteemFamily3 years ago

Greetings, fellow steemers! and welcome to my first post in this community!

I'm very glad to have found this community, and this contest. I have a crazy story to share ;D

Special thanks to @alena-vladi for creating this contest and allowing random people like me to participate :) and @disconnect for his awesome list of contests.

♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥

And, here I go:

My story has a "plot" that may not sound too crazy to you, BUT, it has a not so common ending. That's why I'm excited to share it.

It begins in 1965, when my dad was born... Well, it starts when his biological dad abandoned him, and my grandmother decided not to mention him or reveal his identity to my dad, ever.

My dad grew up with two step-fathers (one after the other, don't get me wrong), and the last of them was particularly close to him, and loved him as he was his true son. That was the man I knew as my grandfather. Such a great man. I miss him dearly. Anyway, my dad reached without knowing the identity of his real father, but he seemed not to care about it, since God granted him the opportunity of having this man in his life he could call "dad."

One day, back in the 90's, my mom was already involved with my dad, and she started having the "forbidden conversation" about my dad's real dad with one of my grandma's sisters. They were drinking, of course. As a result of my aunt's drunk state, my mom could at least know the name of my real grandfather. An Italian name.

Years passed by, and neither mom, nor dad could find anything related to that name. The guy had vanished, they lost hope. By the way, they have 3 kids now: My older sister, my little brother, and me.

Now, let's skip a couple of decades, and go straight to the discovery

With the arrival of different social media, it was only a matter of time until we found him. At first, I did my own attempts to find him on facebook but I couldn't find his particular Italian family name. It was an odyssey, I swear!

Finally, during the year 2019, my sister, who was having interaction with a friend of hers in the already mentioned website, unintentionally detected a person with THAT particular Italian family name among her friend's contacts. She timidly asked her friend about that person, and it resulted to be her boyfriend's mom. Then my sister proceeded to tell our dad's story, and it caught her friend's attention, so she inquired her boyfriend about the origin of his family name, and surprisingly, she got a picture of his grandfather that she immediately sent to my sister.

When we saw the picture, we could barely find a resemblance to our dad, but then my mom had an idea: sending that picture to my aunt (yup, she's still alive), so, that's exactly what my sister did,and we finally had our discovery:
He was actually our biological grandfather.

To make a long story short, we arranged a meeting with our "new" family, or "la famiglia" as I affectionately call them.

Here's the evidence of our meeting. I'm sorry, I felt I had to pixel our faces. I'm really sorry :(

La Famiglia_phixr.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my tale as much as I enjoyed sharing it

#crazyfamily
#venezuela

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks for sharing this story with us! It really is like a wonder that you found your relative. People should know where they come from, in my opinion. Great!

Thank you very much for reading! and I absolutely share your opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60994.68
ETH 2938.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46