How to cope with depression while living in a joint family by @niglys8

in SteemFamily3 years ago

10% payout to @steemit-family

Hello members @steemFamily! I'm glad to participate in this contest organized by @uzma4882.

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScM8ahxHJxN8RKBnwUxdGpfTuDp5pBbbh7MA8VpKiUk1MF35FcfU3yavpBksV3tsLNqsJ3DjuSzEZ5zmsGkE5neHu1LXLizk4fvPQzngUpw8.jpeg
Image source

Firstly, I will begin by giving a little explanation on what depression and a joint family is;

Depression is said to happen when an individual is passing through unhappy moments which might usually last more than weeks.

A joint family is a type of family that consists of the father, mother, children and the grandparents all living together in one house or in the same compound.

9.jpg

Well, as a married woman or wife living in a joint family can lead to a lot of misunderstandings which can lead to depression. In a situation where as a wife or a mother I cannot make personal decisions for my children or get to parent my children the best way I can due to the interference from other uncles or aunties or even grandparents in the house, I will feel that that I'm not competent enough to be a mother yet and this will in turn get me very emotional and depressed.

9.jpg

Talk about the the kitchen duties, living in a joint family as a wife, I'll definitely share the kitchen meaning that I will not enjoy my privacy, there will be sharing of kitchen utensils with the other family members which I will not be comfortable with and when it comes to making meals for my own family, I will also cook a type of meal using a particular receipè that everyone in the house prefers. And in cases whereby every other person in the house likes pepper and my own personal family do not like pepper, it will leave me with the option of not serving my own family better. In this case I am putting the needs of the other family members first and compromising my own family satisfaction. This can be very depressing for me and I will feel that I'm not being the best mum to my children and the best wife to my husband. I will be so bothered and unhappy about this.

9.jpg

Notwithstanding all the misunderstandings that comes from living in a joint family with my husband and children, coping with the depression that comes from all of these has to be done. Convincing my husband for us to move to our own house would be a good start to relieve me of my depression because as far as I am living in a joint family I'll surely have to compromise my needs for the other family members. Once I'm able to convince my husband on my decisions, the whole joint family issues is settled.

IMG_20210102_143256_265.jpg

IMG_20210321_155327_530.jpg

Thank you for reading!
I invite @stanleynnah @chikelly19 and @padosky to participate in this contest

Cc
@steemit-family

Regards,
@niglys8

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Being a member of joint family , I have sometimes face same issues, I called too my husband to settle the situation first if the still problem is occuring then solution is to move. But it's not easy, husband's who are living with thier parents and siblings from the first day, can't easy to convince them to move.Being a women we have to compromise for the sake of her children. Husband's should too create the equally way to create peace at home.
Thanks for sharing your views with us too. ❣️

 3 years ago 

You are definitely right ma'am!
My pleasure ma'am!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51