Contest: My biggest fear | 10% to @steemit-family | club5050steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemFamily2 years ago (edited)
Hello everyone,

I hope you all are doing fine. This is another great opportunity to share my thoughts with you through writing.

IMG_20220402_123433.jpg

What is Fear

Fear is a natural, emotional response to a threat of harm, danger or pain. When we feel threatened, either physically, emotionally or psychologically, fear is triggered.
Some common triggers of fear include:
• Social interaction
• Darkness
• Rejection
• Death
• Flying
• Animals and insects like snake, rodents, spiders, bees etc

Fear could lead to anxiety when the trigger is not identified. Anxiety is common in people, but when someone constantly worry about something, to the point that he is unable carryout normal life activities such as working and sleeping, then fear has become a major problem or a disorder.
Fear is not all bad as most people would think. In fact, fear is a defence mechanism especially when we are faced with danger. Fear helps us avoid dangerous situations or harm. For instance,

My Biggest Fear.

Having explained a little about fear and what triggers fear, I would like to share with you my biggest fear. Like everyone else, I have big fears, like fear of dying, fear of failure, fear of loss, fear of getting old and more.
My biggest and greatest fear is the fear of being judged badly.

1648885351906.jpg
Source
This fear has affected my life negatively. This fear has made it difficult to speak in public or even in small groups. When in class, I find it difficult to respond when teachers ask questions even though I know the answers to them because of my fear.

Let me narrate a personal experience that happened when I was in high school over 10 years ago. During our physical educational training, a teacher asked me to look for one of my classmates (I was playing football at the time). I hurriedly looked for the person so that I could continue playing football, but I couldn't find the person. I went back to my teacher and I told him that I was unable to locate the person he asked me to find. The teacher said some hurtful words to me that I still remember till date. I felt very bad and pained throughout the rest of that day.

Thankfully, hurtful words do not vex me as much as it did, because I have been able to control my emotions, making it difficult for people's words to overwhelm me. I'm not totally free from my biggest fear, but I keep working hard not to let what others say about me affect me negatively.

One thing that has really helped me is laughter. When someone says something mean, I just laugh at the person. Always having a happy disposition has helped me a lot.
I do not also put myself in too many situations where people are to judge me.
There are other helpful tips to help one cope and overcome his/her biggest fear, you just have to find it.

I invite @dboaz, @warrior02, @alexan1, @five5 and @fae to join in this contest.
Thank you @uzma4882 for organising this contest and thank you @steemit-family.

Sort:  

I can totally relate to your fear, and experience. I'm 30 years old, but I'm still afraid of people's judgement, and to public embarrassment. It hasn't been easy for me, since I became a teacher (not by choice, but anyway), mind you, a teacher is a professional that is constantly in the eyes of many others: not only students, but other professors, coordinators and staff.

Great post. I wish you good luck ♥

Thanks. I wish you the same.

You have a good entry here. But let's not allow fear stop us from our strength of achieving great things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39