Contest:4| How to cope with depression while you are living in joint family"Share your experience"| by @gladys-nanyanga

Hello Steemit Family!!

I hope your week has been great. From my upbeat tone, switching to a serious topic is like whiplash. But my mother always says, keep smiling, be happy, and all that you dream and wish for will come true.

image.png
Image Source
My first encounter with depression was when I was a pre-teen. My mom had just quit her job, the pay was not so great and she was spending more than she was earning, with my dad taking care of the excesses. She then devoted herself to taking care of us, the children. But it was not easy, switching from a 9-5 job to being at home full time except for the occasional weekends. It takes a toll when you are in a cycle of wash, rinses, and repeat.

image.png
Image Source
Years later, I felt the same way, living in a cycle and feeling unfulfilled in what I did every day and just plain dragging myself through all my tasks and to do what I promised to do. There came a point when I signed off, avoided my friends, skipped class, feared the thought of moving out of my room to go anywhere. I’d wake up and stay lying in my bed. I skipped out of class. It was a no-brainer that was the period I performed worst at school.

I didn’t know that I was depressed until I sat down with a counselor (the school provides them). I discovered that depression shows itself in different ways and forms for different people…the fake smile, the prolonged absences, and excuses that accompany them, the lackluster work attitude, profound sadness for what you may have no idea about. It could be the loss of a loved one, heartbreak, losing out on a great opportunity, big but not so great changes in our lives.

image.png
Image source
So how did my mother get out of depression? That is tricky. What may have worked for her may not work for everyone else. It’s not one size fits all. My mother went back to doing the things she loved to do in her free time, gardening, writing, reading books, listening, and dancing to music. I also take her out for movies occasionally. If you have a job, make the best use of your weekends and work leave to recharge. Reconnect with nature by going for nature walks or visiting the game park. Learn a new skill or take up a new hobby, I have heard that knitting and crocheting can be quite relaxing. Learn a musical instrument or a new language. Anything that can take you off the repetitive cycle. There are so many things a person can do.

She told me as long as one strives to be happy no matter where they are at in life that is the most important thing. Whenever you feel like you are becoming that again, do everything you can to be happy, laugh, and take life one step at a time. Life is a personal journey, and no matter what you do, look for love, happiness, and peace. With these three, life becomes much more livable in that there will not be much time to dwell on negativity.

Cc;
@Uzma4882
@yohan2on
@bahamutzero
@adeljose
@hazmat
@mariez

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Dear, you have face unbearable pre age challenges in your life. But you can feel that both parents are working just for the sake of your bright future. And you now feel like a strong lady as well. This is not only a contest. Through this we can share our experiences and motivate others to how to cope with depression. Thanks for participating 🌼

Thank you @uzma4882. Facing challenges in human life is akin to a sailor facing storms while at sea. it builds one into a person that they love. I am happy to have shared and all I hope is for my experience to be an inspiration to many other people.

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69