You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal to adjust Steem Rewards 75/25 ... Curation / Creator

in Steem Schools3 years ago

I saw Dobartim suggest something similar once but he separated out investors and curators into something like 40/30/30. It's an interesting concept where there's a difference between curators who are more involved in the "artists" or posts that they support compared to investors who just want a return on their investment (more like upvoting services in the case of investors).

This would obviously appear bad from an artist point of view but 25% of $100 is much better than 50% of $1.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Exactly .... as an artist I would be much happier to earn 25% of $1,000 rather than 100% or 50% of zero. Most artists on Steemit earn nothing at all.

 3 years ago 

Investors should also be Curators. Curation is the key to success here on Steemit. It is a big job.

 3 years ago 

If we didn’t have Autovotes and investors took a more active role in Curation or maybe at least delegation to manual curators The price of Steem would go to $100

I agree with all 3 points. The issue is that investors don't want the effort of curating. In fact, curators don't want the effort of curating. And it's a problem steemit has - another user that I speak to calls it a "sickness". Many users reach a certain point and delegate their power to an upvoting service. Which benefits themselves and the upvoting service. The ecosystem depends upon the wealth being distributed across the entire system to create more "whales" which then feed the smaller fish. I see very little of this happening and many smaller fish withdraw their money as soon as they earn it.

To make matters worse, when I joined, I found it incredibly difficult to find content that I wanted to read. I still find it hard to find content that I want to read. It's hard not to be critical but I love football and most of the football posts are utter dog shit. If somebody writes a decent post on a subject, there are 10 dog shit posts that follow with people wanting a piece of the pie. This exacerbates the problem with curation. If so much content's shit, then it takes even longer to find something worthy of an upvote. I'm just on a rant now.

Contests and Diary Games are not the making of a platform that will attract and retain users but appears to be the current strategy. I'd say that 90%+ of people on steem just want to make a quick buck. On the positive side, there is plenty of support for people who reinvest and retain their steem.

Rant over.

 3 years ago (edited)

Well... with as little as 12,000 SteemPower I make almost $ 500 / month now posting and curating .... I try to curate manually but I have autovote set up to vote while I’m away from my computer ...

I try to curate manually but I have autovote set up to vote while I’m away from my computer ...

I try to do the same. I have a handful of people I like to support who are generally people who have read my content and given me their precious time and they get my "auto-upvotes". I still try to read their content though, even if it is their latest fight 😉

How's the maple syrup coming along?

 3 years ago 

Maple Syrup is long gone. We only made a little. Got too warm too fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36