YOU CAN MAKE IT BIG BUT RIGHTsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Schools3 years ago

IMG_20210602_074802_582.jpg

In the year 2015, I got admission to study computer science as a National Diploma student in Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike. It was my fourth year after SS3. Things were going well for my family until 2009. After the "wait" reply from parents due to the sudden hardship and challenges for years, I got the admission.

As of 2014, my phone's name was Nokia C3. I bought the phone after my second WAEC as my two papers were missing from the first - 2010. I worked as a pure water machine operator/packer and primary school teacher. I also used the money raised to buy admission form, pay for JAMB and supplementary form.

Throughout my days in national diploma, I didn't buy any shoes. I wore one black plain trouser for days in a week. All I did was to change the shirts which I inherited from my brothers.

When some students were using their smartphones to surf for a piece of information to do assignments, I depended on my Nokia c3. I'll have to save the page to write the assignment.

Did I like not having new shoes, clothes or having a better phone? No! Did I've the hope that I'd have them in the future? Yes! Did I even feel envious of them? No! I've good brain so it hides my lack of necessary tools.

In this season of lack, I was focused to achieve my target grade, 4.60 and above. I got 4.63 CGP at the end.

I didn't look for one sugar mummy or one fraudulent business to do. I rather did manual work - filling an apartment foundation. I think I was paid 1000 NGN. My course mate saw me, laughed, took pictures of me and said she'll show it to my two best female friends.

Did I do the bricklaying job with good eyes? No! I did to raise money to buy compulsory handouts as the lecturers then used us to buy new cars.

I was able to use the laptop my uncle bought for me to do some term paper assignments for other coursemates. I'll use my Nokia C3 to surf the information from the internet and then start writing on a paper before typing with the laptop.

The money I got was for school dues and handouts. There was a time in school that I couldn't cut my hair for weeks because I've no money - even "shishi".

I passed through a lot but I was focused on finishing the national diploma with a good grade. You will see more about this in my debut book - Stairs in the storm. I trusted God for divine assistance and He came through. When the financial needs become too much, someone will just send me money.

I can afford phones now but yet I can't buy certain phones now as I know I've not attained that level and season in life.

Apart from the Nokia C3, I've purchased 3 phones since 2013 till date - Infinix Hot 2, china model, infinix Hot 5 (still with me), infinix HOT 9, the one I'm using now. From 2013 to 2021 is more than seven years.

I can buy new clothes but I can't buy it anyhow as I've not attained that level. I do have clothes of more than two years that I'm still wearing.

Why this story? There is a time and season for everyone.

Why are you in a haste? Why are you competing for things you should overlook. You are just 18 years old and you think you are late already. You're already competing with a 40 years old. Someone that has been thinking of money and being independent for years.

Must you wear new clothes every semester? It is necessary but when you don't have the money, manage what you have.

Must you have a new phone? A recent graduate, after working for months used her savings to get an iPhone. That's just like starting life afresh. Must you have an iPhone now?

Lack of patience has pushed even 14 - 20 years old guys into internet fraud, popularly known as yahoo. Who attends lectures now? Only a few! Money will solve the problem. A few are now in the hostel because they want to have freedom and space to do their "runs" and "fraud" peacefully.

Empty brains with unfortunate hairdo. Stop putting yourself under different amateur pressures of life. You don't need a girlfriend or boyfriend to prove you've arrived among your mates. The discussion of female teens in higher institutions these periods is irritating - sex, fuck, boyfriend, sugar daddy, hangout, club, male lecturers, hotel etc.

Lack of patience has made many to call their father's age mate "my baby" and the unfortunate man will answer her daughter's mate, "my love". Boys of early 20s calling their mother's age mate, "baby" and the destiny killer will reply, "my guy".

There is a time and there's a season. By nature and spiritually, whatever you sow even in ignorance you'll reap. Wait! Be patient!

You're not late. Some achieved it at 40 years, some at 30, some at 50, some at 20.

If you must achieve it early, do it right and have peace of mind.

Don't become famous overnight for a bad reputation. Regret is the most useless emotion.

Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Thanks alot
I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57126.48
ETH 3046.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29