My poem "Why am I not a bird" for poetrycontest by @dobartim

in Steem Schools3 years ago (edited)


image.png

Why am I not a bird



Why am I not a bird, not a free soul,
Flying over me now?
Why can't I soar in heaven
And only freedom to love?


To the west, to the west, I would rush,
Where the fields of my ancestors bloom,
Where in the empty castle, on the foggy mountains,
Their forgotten dust rests.


On the ancient wall their ancestral shield
And their rusty sword hangs.
I would fly over sword and shield,
And I would dust off them with my wing;


And the Scottish harp would have touched the string,
And the sound would have flown over the arches;
We listen to one, and one is awakened,
As it rang out, so he would have ceased.


But dreams are in vain, pleas are useless
Against the strict laws of fate.
The
waves of the seas spread between me and the hills of my town.


The last descendant of brave fighters
Withers among the alien snows;
I was born here, but an alien soul ...
Oh! why am I not a bird, not a free soul? ..



Thank you so much, dear @dobartim for your beautiful contest.

image.png

Sort:  
Loading...

Downvote, remove vote and put on mute for the Steem Schools community @endingplagiarism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42