Learning to say NO is an act of self-love

in Steem Schools3 years ago
One of the most difficult things to do for some people is to say NO, in this case, saying NO when assuming a commitment or a responsibility is not possible seems not to be on our list of answers, yes I include myself, because as Gabriel Garcia Marquez once said "the most valuable thing I learned at 40 years old was to say no when it is no" I had to learn it too.


Source: pixabay.com

steemph.jpg

You may think that this is a simple action but it really is not and it is only when you understand that saying no to situations, events, actions and even people that affect you is an act of self-love and not selfishness that you discover the need to do it. In my case, I always thought that saying NO even when it implied a wear and tear on my part or even an action that caused me problems was selfishness. And this thought is anchored to my own beliefs and value system, those that I learned since I was a child where I always saw with the example of my parents how they helped everyone in need and were there for everyone until one day listening to my mother when I grew up she told me: "people abuse you when they know that you are not selfish, people abuse you when they know that you will always say YES, you can do 99 favors and the day you stop doing one that day you are no longer good but bad, she with the experience of the years told me it is a mistake to always do everything for everyone and not think of you, never let people abuse you.


Source: pixabay.com

steemph.jpg

Today in the midst of a personal situation I could understand such wise words when I have always been willing and from my mouth have always heard a YES, finally I dared to say no because my strength was no longer enough, in addition that I was asked for something that was not my competence or my responsibility to solve, now after years of being the good one, the supportive one, the one who always does everything at the time and moment, I become the bad guy of the movie, to put it nicely, so today I am sure that we must learn to say no when it is time to do it, the supportive one, the one who always does everything at the right time and at the right moment, I become the bad guy, so to say it in a nice way, so today I am sure that we must learn to say no when it is necessary, that our own life is always the most important thing because no one will take care of your things the day you are no longer there. Saying no is an act of self-love in most cases.


Source: pixabay.com

emimoron.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

inspiring writeup .always known when to say no. nice one

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much, it is something that I consider fundamental, to put limits to people, especially when we realize that they use us. Thank you for sharing your opinion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43