A window into the past (Personal life)

in R2cornell4 years ago

Apostrophe Writing Prompt Week 11
image source

 

It is magical as a simple writing or several of them, written in an old agenda can transport us for minutes to the past and relive episodes of life.

Stowaway and heir to some things of my missing sister, when she was just beginning to enjoy puberty and the dreams of both were challenges to destiny and the world, while I read short words, which tried to be part of some newspaper written in 1974, I travel to those years when everything seemed to revolve around the axis of our hopes.

"Friday, May 3: Dad's Birthday."

"Sunday, May 5: Birthday of my friend Deysy Chourio."

"Tuesday, May 7: Geography exam, Formation exam."

"Monday, May 20: Birthday José"

There was so much importance in the date of the onomastics because they seemed to point out to us that we were growing, that we were going, like the tree, looking for the light being every time high.

For me it was an extraordinary year, I would come of age, I would go from being a teenager to an adult according to the laws of my country, where at 18 I no longer needed parental authorizations for many things.

I could vote, get married, work freely, and also become responsible for my actions.

"Sunday, June 16: Dilia's Birthday."

As if she were a third person she had written there the date she was born, the day she would turn 13 and that would be the beginning to plan her great celebration of presentation to society, her fifteen years.

"Friday, June 21: Fatima Ochoa's Birthday Remember!"

Friendship was a cornerstone of her existence and this was her best friend.

"Monday, July 22nd: Carlos Julio's Birthday"

Our fragile little brother was a shared responsibility that we exercised in the long time that our parents left us alone at home.

That day was his sixth birthday.

"Saturday, August 24th: Today I saw the movie "The Exorcist" for the second time and I enjoyed a pullero, wonderful things happened on this day."

"Sunday, September 15: Today I saw "El golpe" at 7:30 pm at the Urdaneta."

"Monday, September 23rd: Today at 5:30 p.m. I'm going to see "Extramarital Relations" with Erika."

"I saw Extramarital Relations today."

The cinema at that time was a unique opportunity to share, one of the few places where my father let go of the iron fence he had to go to other places with different people.

Only I, as a pirate crossing the seas, could free her from that yoke and allow her to enjoy her adolescence in a healthy and safe way.

I, with my innate rebellion that made me trust my father to be a good guardian.

"Saturday, October 5: Today I went to a party, I enjoyed it a lot."

One of the many times we end up being punished for walking in the street at night.

"Wednesday, October 9: Beginning of 2-year classes."

That month would mark the rest of our lives.

"Saturday, October 12: We left on a trip to Araya to take my aunt."

"Sunday, October 13: I had the biggest fright of my life today, we had to walk on the hills of Araya because the car didn't pass."

Death knocked on our door without us noticing it, arrived disguised as a holiday and as the stubbornness of our father.

Very far from the place where we lived and the place where our father was born.

We spent the morning together and in the afternoon she died when the car that almost fell into the ravine on the hills of the place, overturned on a sandy road of her, about eighteen hours later.

It is difficult for me, even today forty-five years later, not to shed a tear when I read in my own handwriting the details of a year that began as a holiday and ended as a tragedy.

It is also difficult for me not to transport myself to those days when we were birds and butterflies, passengers of a ship that fighting against the storm transported us to the next years.

These writings, already blurred by time, are a window that takes me back to the past.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77