Personal Journal, Entry Number 17,153: August 1st, 2020

in R2cornell4 years ago

One of the things I really like about the "1000 Days of Steem" and "Diary Game" initiatives is that they are centered on people; centered on the notion that life is ultimately about the telling of our personal stories.

It was the same in times long gone: Back when the "oral tradition" of story telling still reigned it was stories of a people that were passed on.

055LakePrivacy.jpg

The title of this post indeed does refer loosely to my own journal.

In early August of 1973, my mother packed up all our world from the comfort of Denmark and we moved to the south of Spain... my mother had met a retired English businessman who lived there.

For me, it was such a complete and utter change to everything I knew and was familiar with... and since we didn't actually know anyone in our new "home," I started keeping a journal. In a sense, I was "talking to myself" about life, as it unfolded. I didn't really have anyone else to talk to, you see...

Although I no longer have those original teenage journals, I have been keeping some sort of journal/blog ever since.

075CloverBubbDay30.jpg

So when I say that this is "Entry Number 17,153" it IS an estimate, but very likely it is not an exaggeration... as I would often write 2-3 or more entires on any given day.

It has been almost 47 years!

I believe it was @surpassinggoogle who originally started talking about "The Internet of PEOPLE" on the Steem blockchain, in connection with his #ulog initiative.

The thing about people is that they are central to having actual communities.

If you think about it, "things" do not build communities, and "information" doesn't build communities, and "code" is only very peripheral to building communities.

People all have their stories, and that's a major part of what makes life interesting!

107Sunset2Introverts.jpg

The reason I started writing this is that I am not here to pass on information, I am here simply to tell and record an ongoing story... and occasionally to explore and discuss the stories others have to share.

That, in a sense, IS the fabric of life.

And it's something worth pursuing and preserving. And something worth remembering, in this strange world in which many seem to have grown more attached to objects than to people.

I hope everyone is having an awesome weekend!

Thanks for reading!

How about YOU? Are you a long time journal keeper? Or is this your first experience with it? What does writing your story here MEAN to you? Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — NOT A CROSSPOST!!!)
Created at 20200801 11:15 PDT
x036

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62