#club100 // contest : A Story for International Women's Day! By @luckydrums // Celebrating Madam Elizabeth at 100 years // 30% to @hive-151446

in 🌟 Sᴛᴀʀꜱ ᴏғ Sᴛᴇᴇᴍ 🌟2 years ago (edited)

Good day lovely steemians, hope all is well. I want to specially appreciate women all over the world, We are indeed blessed to have you. we appreciate everything you do , the love and the care you show. Indeed your impacts in this world have been tremendous. You have succeeded in raising great leaders and great people .

Today i will be sharing a story about one of these wonderful humans(women), I have come to see how strong and loving they can be and I appreciate them for all they do. I will be talking about my grandma, madam Elizabeth. As you can see, she is now very old, she is over a hundred years now and few weeks back we gathered to celebrate her. She had been quite an amazing and strong woman in her youth, risking her life for her children. Let me share with you one of the amazing stories about her , It was told to me by my dad.


IMG_20220101_155550_5.jpg

This happened years back, around the period between 1967 to 1970, a civil had war broke out in my country Nigeria which led to unrest , poverty, migration and hunger. It was between the government of Nigeria and the people of Biafra, the government of Nigeria controlled the northern region while the people of Biafra controlled the southern region. My parents happen to come from the southern region controlled by Biafra.

The people of Nigeria had Superior military strength and so they conquered lots of Biafran territories, they pushed the Biafran army so hard conquering most of their territories till they got close to my home town, my dad at the time was just a very young teenager and his mum was still nursing his little baby sister. Because of the fact that there were bombs blowing-up different places, they had to run into the thick forest for cover. When ever the bombings and shootings stopped each day, they'll then go back to their home. A lot of people would even go back to find their homes destroyed.

It continued like that everyday and they would always have to run into the bush whenever it happened.
A particular day came when the shooting and bombing was so much, the Nigerian army had pressed deep into our community, My Grandma took my dad and her small baby to their regular hideout, that day a lot of people came there to hide and so the place was filled up. Whenever they hid there, they would be very quiet so the Nigerian soldiers or fighter jets do not hear any sound because if they heard sounds from any location, they would shoot at that location. Unfortunately the little baby my grandma was carrying started crying, she really cried loudly, Grandma had tried to make her stop crying but she wouldn't stop.

Everyone got furious and they demanded that her baby be killed so her cries wouldn't attract the Nigerian soldiers to their location because they were doomed if the Nigerian soldiers heard any sound from there location. They said it was better to have the baby killed than for everyone else to die. When the pressure became too much on her and the baby wouldn't stop crying, my grandma started weeping too. she insisted on leaving the hideout with the baby rather than have them kill her child , she was ready to die with her child.

She left with the baby, she thought that would be her end because the shootings were now so much and she didn't have cover, she explained how bullets fell round-about her like rain but none touched her or the baby. She sat beside a tree carrying her baby and covering her with her body, her eyes tightly closed , prepared to die but death didn't come . After a while the shooting stopped, she opened her eyes and realized she and her baby were still alive and uninjured. Her little baby girl is grown now and is also an amazing mother with amazing kids. She is actually my best aunt.


IMG_20220116_145739_153.jpg

When I heard this story , I was amazed , the love of a mother is so strong. Whenever I see my aunt, I appreciate my grandma even more. I love her so much. I urge you to join me in celebrating madam Elizabeth .

IMG_20220101_155759_5.jpg

I want to thank everyone that stopped by, I want to thank this Communities @hive-151446 and thank all the women all over the world. God bless you all

To support this community I am giving 30% of the payout to this Community

I am also inviting my friends @sokabomb, @zekea and @amaka06 to participate in this contest,
Here is the contest link, https://steemit.com/hive-151446/@hive-151446/concurso-crea-una-historia-por-el-dia-internacional-de-la-mujer-contest-create-a-story-for-international-women-s-day

Thanks alot

I am also inviting my friends @sokabomb, @zekea and @amaka06 to participate in this contest,
Here is the contest link, https://steemit.com/hive-151446/@hive-151446/concurso-crea-una-historia-por-el-dia-internacional-de-la-mujer-contest-create-a-story-for-international-women-s-day

Thanks alot

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68324.35
ETH 3763.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63