You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Diary #19: Follower network strength and preparing for Open Source publication

in Steem Dev3 months ago

I recently saw something in the Hivemind code that amazed me. I can't remember what it was right away, but it must have once been available or intended as a function.

Whilst looking for some documentation for steemit.com, I stumbled across a few interesting discussions that were prompted by the dev team. I can't remember what any of them were either 😆 but I did think about digging some of them out. One of them was a page view counter and there's a lot of condenser code scattered about for that.

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

page view counter

This would be a great favour to some (well known) users :-)
However, there are a few obstacles here:

  • The way it was implemented at the time, only the calls via the Steemit condenser could be counted.
  • The data are obviously still sent to the overseen server, but requests to it do not work (I tried this once with the old code).
  • Even if the server were to answer requests again, this would only work with the api.steemit.com node. Meaningful results are obtained with other nodes (if the changeover works) only if they redirect the requests to api.steemit.com.

Will you accept the challenge? ;-D

 3 months ago 

Ha ha - no chance! I'm grateful that you've looked into this already. I'm not a fan of page view counters and if you managed to convince me otherwise (😉), I'd investigate a Google Analytics API that could pull the data in and produce some more meaningful data. One day, I'll get access to Steemit's GA account!

 3 months ago 

Hopefully it won't take so long ;-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44