You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Diary #19: Follower network strength and preparing for Open Source publication

in Steem Dev2 months ago

I just stumbled across this and thought of you and @moecki - https://peakd.com/steem/@steemitblog/introducing-the-steem-recommendation-page

I wonder why it was removed - presumably it required too much processing power.

Have you ever scrolled to the bottom of steemitblog on steemit.com? It ends prematurely which I found interesting 🫢

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Nice :-)

I recently saw something in the Hivemind code that amazed me. I can't remember what it was right away, but it must have once been available or intended as a function.
Perhaps you can actually still find remnants of the implementation of the recommendations at that time. In any case, I think that this was implemented at Hivemind level.

It ends prematurely which I found interesting 🫢

Strange. On steemitdev.com it doesn't end prematurely...

I think hivemind came along later. I ran a couple quick searches of steemit's github space, but didn't find anything. I didn't spend a lot of time at it, though.

 2 months ago 

You are right. Thanks for the link. I really need to have a look at all the old posts from steemitblog. Quite a lot was explained there.

I found two commits:
https://github.com/steemit/steem/commit/a01b04ed439681528c61b3b7e318092c8b98067f
https://github.com/steemit/steem/commit/f3877959f55d30e1ba2815eeb437dabc0e3d70fd

These were probably the first implementations. I don't yet know whether it was changed before it was removed again.

 2 months ago 

I recently saw something in the Hivemind code that amazed me. I can't remember what it was right away, but it must have once been available or intended as a function.

Whilst looking for some documentation for steemit.com, I stumbled across a few interesting discussions that were prompted by the dev team. I can't remember what any of them were either 😆 but I did think about digging some of them out. One of them was a page view counter and there's a lot of condenser code scattered about for that.

 2 months ago 

page view counter

This would be a great favour to some (well known) users :-)
However, there are a few obstacles here:

  • The way it was implemented at the time, only the calls via the Steemit condenser could be counted.
  • The data are obviously still sent to the overseen server, but requests to it do not work (I tried this once with the old code).
  • Even if the server were to answer requests again, this would only work with the api.steemit.com node. Meaningful results are obtained with other nodes (if the changeover works) only if they redirect the requests to api.steemit.com.

Will you accept the challenge? ;-D

 2 months ago 

Ha ha - no chance! I'm grateful that you've looked into this already. I'm not a fan of page view counters and if you managed to convince me otherwise (😉), I'd investigate a Google Analytics API that could pull the data in and produce some more meaningful data. One day, I'll get access to Steemit's GA account!

 2 months ago 

Hopefully it won't take so long ;-D

Interesting. That even predates me by a a couple of months. I have no recollection of ever seeing that feature in operation, so maybe they removed it quickly. If I remember, I'll ask @cmp2020 if he remembers it when he gets home from college. I didn't find any other references to it in github or google after a couple quick searches.

I agree that it was likely removed due to performance considerations. That definitely strikes me like it would have trouble scaling. Also, when the automated voting came along, I'm not sure how accurate it would be. I think useful recommendations would probably require something more sophisticated (i.e. language processing & machine learning). There's a whole field of AI research that's dedicated to this purpose.

If I scroll to the bottom of steemitblog, I get there. If I scroll to the bottom of steemitblog/posts, it ends prematurely. Both go all the way to the bottom from steemitdev. Maybe another bug that you fixed with your work on condenser. 😉

 2 months ago 

I think it was the first post that came from the steemitblog account. There was a latter post about Steemit going open source so my suspicion is that the code didn't even hit GitHub. I haven't really looked though.

I think useful recommendations would probably require something more sophisticated (i.e. language processing & machine learning). There's a whole field of AI research that's dedicated to this purpose.

Good point. I suspect that it won't be long before an AI model can analyze a user's posts, review who they vote and comment on and subsequently find authors with a similar profile. I would say that using tags (for example) but few people use tags correctly now. Ignoring that downside, it actually feels like a fairly straightforward algorithm to do.

  1. Review my comments and posts.
  2. Review the people I've commented on (tags used, reputation, date joined, etc.) with pre-determined weightings.
  3. Find people who use those tags, have that reputation, etc. with a narrow to broadening search. It could target 3 months data so as not to be overwhelming.

Maybe another bug that you fixed with your work on condenser. 😉

My guess - it's hard coded on the steemit.com domain 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50