Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Me too! :-D
Now I have a bit more time for other topics... I'm not going to adopt your changes just yet. I first have to see what will really be merged.

 2 months ago 

I'm optimistic that both of our changes will be accepted. I'm hesitant to make another big change until I get some good news though!

I was looking at how difficult it would be to update the "Trending" algorithm today. It looks like I've got to set up a few Nodes which looks expensive. Presumably, this is what you had to do to get your Witness Node running?

 last month 

The "trending" is calculated at least at Hivemind level. I can't tell you whether this also happens on the chain itself. Because of the API query condenser_api.get_discussions_by_trending it could be assumed. However, I doubt that this is the same algorithm.

The witness nodes run independently of the Hivemind development. Hivemind and the RPC node run on their own server. I had to use another server for the Hivemind test node so that the "productive" nodes are not affected.
At the moment, I'm actually spending more than I'm earning from block production. As long as I have fun with developing, that's fine...

 last month 

I found the trending code within the steemd repository. It's written in C++ so it's safe to keep away from it 🙂 It appeared to take 2 parameters - a score and a timeframe so the same function is used to return trending and hot. Once I saw where it was and the C++, I decided I'd park that until I fancied re-acquainting myself with that particular language!

I'm still surprised that you're not one of the top witnesses. I hope that you make your way higher. I find it quite a deterrent that somebody who contributes as much as you do is outside the top 50 - otherwise I'd be more inclined to satisfy my curiosity and set up a node too!

 last month 

until I fancied re-acquainting myself with that particular language!

I feel the same way. I have already refreshed a few basics. Unfortunately, I still have no idea how debugging could be done there. It's also not a top priority at the moment.

I'm still surprised

I'm not really. It's the same old problem. Are the posts read so that a lot of people take note of the activities? I would probably have to annoy the whales with the big stake more directly... Others can do that better...

!finanzbot 10 %

Others can do that better...

Well, I'm not really good at it either.
But I'm good at thinking out loud:
The witness vote of @dev365 is very influential. And this account is - as far as I know (and I think @rme knows this too...) - controlled by the Steemit Team. So @steemcurator01 should be able to manage something. And this account reads your posts and seems to be just as enthusiastic about them and your actions as we all are!

Moecki for TOP 20 Witness!!!

 last month 

I remember upvu trying to get dev365's votes removed so that the Witness Voting system was fairer but I don't think that ever happened. So it does put more weight on user's like upvu and rme to select the witnesses which contribute the most (in terms of community as well as development). moecki does both so I keep thinking it's only a matter of time before he gets the votes he deserves!

Maybe when @moecki launches bookmarks, he could hard code an automatic bookmark to his "moecki's a witness" post 😉

 last month 

Be careful, such ideas might tend to be realised ;-))

Even if it sounds paradoxical, I would be in favour of dev365 removing its votes. Especially for the reasons that led to them being used. Even if I don't really like the overweighting of the two mentioned. I don't think that we witnesses should make ourselves "dependent" on just a few people.
I have officially "applied" to upvu, but only with my activities. I hope that these will be recognised at some point. Don't worry, I'm not going to start a promotion club :-)

I'm still surprised that you're not one of the top witnesses.

#metoo

Let's develop a proposal... ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53