You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 👨🏼‍💻 #Proposal-86: New Navigation Available on steemitdev.com

in Steem Dev3 months ago

Yep. Now the original issue appears to be fixed, and the new problems have disappeared. I had already noticed the coloring and scrolling for pinned posts and now I see the banner info, too. I like the general direction.

Out of curiosity, will you be adding back the menu options for "Hot" and "Promoted" and switching the landing page to "/promoted"?

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

The colouring's just where I'm trying to identify items in the CSS and the easiest way of doing that is with a massive border. It's tempting to keep it as a design feature - it's certainly eye catching - but I probably won't 🙂

Out of curiosity, will you be adding back the menu options for "Hot" and "Promoted" and switching the landing page to "/promoted"?

Probably not - certainly not initially anyway. I'm working on the assumption that the Steemit Team removed it for a reason. Having just looked at 'Hot', it's as pointless as 'Trending' in its current form so I don't know if there's much benefit.

I don't know if /promoted is working any more. It didn't work the last time I tried it.

/promoted is still working:

image.png

I agree that /hot isn't very useful at the top level, but my thinking is that it might add variety inside of a moderated community that keeps spam under control (i.e. Popular STEM/hot vs. Popular STEM/trending). Not something I care about much, but in general I'm in favor of variety and choices for the user.

 3 months ago 

I'll try to find out if anybody knows why 'Hot' it got deleted before reintroducing it. It's been mentioned as something Upvu users like and I don't see any harm in it being there. I had a look at the algorithm and it's identical to 'Trending' other than the time period.

 last month 

Ah, interesting. That's an easy fix - the option in the dropdown is just commented out🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39