You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎮 Text Based Games on Steemit

in Steem Devlast year

Don't have time to read the full article atm, but a few years ago, Eric S. Raymond made an open source version of the classic game, Colossal Cave Adventure. I have often thought that it would be a fun project to connect that up with a bot on Steem.

Sort:  
 last year 

It's been a long time since I've done anything in C - unless that awful objective-C thing that iPhone apps needed to use! It's interesting to see so many "goto" commands in the code. That was the first thing that my school IT teacher drummed into us - don't use "goto". I have no idea how you'd go about integrating that into a Steem bot!

It's definitely along the lines of what I was thinking - I'm not sure my game will reach that level of complexity although my new plan as of today is to release 1 level at a time. Like Candy Crush do 😆

 last year 

That was the first thing that my school IT teacher drummed into us - don't use "goto".

I didn't learn this until college. And I resisted it for a while. But yeah, "goto" seems strange to me now, too.

I think the original Collosal Cave code was written in the '60s or '70s (I'm pretty sure I was playing it on a Honeywell mainframe and family member's teletype & dial-up modem by the late '70s), so ESR probably just brought the GOTOs forward from the original.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79