You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Diary #22: Boosting organic conversations and reflecting on support for open source development.

in Steem Dev7 days ago

Yep, I remember utopian.io. I'm also not sure why they went away, but I'm guessing it mostly had to do with the falling price of STEEM after 2017. They hung on for a while, but (as I recall), they lost momentum when the prices dropped. That's part of the reason why my focus is on communities right now. Low barriers to entry. I imagine that something like utopian would require launch funding.

Sort:  

Yes, it was most likely the retreat in the price of STEEM from the dazzling highs of 2018.

I do remember seeing Utopian.io votes in the high hundreds of dollars back in the day !

I wonder what sort of levels of support would be needed to attract quality developers currently?

That, I guess, would depend on the countries the developers reside in.

A $100 post reward for example might be quite an enticement in some parts of the world - whereas in the UK or USA that might not be such an attraction if it reflects several days of development work.

I wonder what sort of levels of support would be needed to attract quality developers currently?

Me too, but I do suspect that we could do it as a community participation effort, and relying on this point.

That, I guess, would depend on the countries the developers reside in.

A $100 post reward for example might be quite an enticement in some parts of the world - whereas in the UK or USA that might not be such an attraction if it reflects several days of development work.

I sort of doubt if many people in the US, UK, or the western EU countries would be able to dedicate much time to it at current price levels, but that might not be true elsewhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59