You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Diary #15: Voting suggestions and author incentives

in Steem Dev3 months ago

Thanks for the reply!

Vote percentage is already way more overhead than a "like" on conventional social media.

Agreed. I wouldn't want the web sites to take away the option for setting a custom voting percentage, but I think it would be useful for web sites to let their users turn it on and off. What I envision is that - as a user - I could turn off the setting, then my choice would just be [vote/don't vote], and the web site would handle the percentage choices invisibly. It actually makes it easier for both normies and higher stakes voters (assuming the percentage selection is on target).

You may want to factor the "convergent linear" aspect of the reward mechanism in, since it's nonlinear in this region.

Yeah, there is definitely space for optimization. It might be better to look at post values in terms of STEEM, instead of SBD, too. That way it (hopefully) wouldn't need to be adjusted as the price of STEEM changes.

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

then my choice would just be [vote/don't vote], and the web site would handle the percentage choices invisibly

Ah, now I understand your intentions :-)
The frontend should suggest to the user which value they should vote with.
This would go in the direction of making it easy for the user and one click would be enough for the "Like".
In principle, I'm always in favour of automation, but I'm rather "old-fashioned" in this respect. Of course you can give the user the choice of switching on and off, but I personally wouldn't want to switch it on.
However, it would be interesting if the suggestion appeared in the vote bar, but I could still change it.

If I think about it briefly, I come up with the following aspects when determining the vote value (in order):

  1. information content, entertainment value,
  2. do I know the author? Has he already made an appearance?
  3. how much effort could the author have put into the post/comment?
  4. post or comment,
  5. how often have I voted for the author in the last few days?

And: Exceptions prove the rule. :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88