Contest: "Do you have any habits that you can't seem to break?"

in Boylikegirl Club10 months ago

girl-2032924_1280.jpgSource

Talk about chewing your nails, everyone will expect it too be actually an easy habit to quit.
Funny enough I started chewing my nails due to imitating this particular friend. At first it was for the fun of it and also for mocking her in the process.

How I eventually developed the habit seems totally unbelievable to me. Like I can sit down and chew my nails for hours without even realising it. I have finally succeeded in chewing the whole thing that I often pity my poor nails.

Indeed I have received quite a handful of lectures on how unhealthy this particular habit is but it's not like I would do abracadabra and the whole thing would finally stop.

nail-art-2688565_1280.jpg Source

I tried many ways to stop it, rubbing biter leaf on my hands, fixing nails and all other weird methods but it only made it worst. I guess realising how comfortable I am with it is the worst part.

It gets frustrating when you can't just stop probably like an addiction. I have decided to give up on quitting and just let it be.
Apart from it being unhygienic, the other disadvantages are not so huge. I never get to fix or paint my nails and my natural nails be looking some rat's leftovers.

bed-1836316_1280.jpgSource

Chewing my nails is probably even my least had to die habit. Talk about sleep talking.
Well, I haven't really seen this one for myself and I find it hard to believe.
Like how come I don't ever remember anything of it but my siblings and even my mom have confirmed it.
According to them when I'm fast asleep, I mumble incoherent nonsense. This one is even worst since I just can't think of a way to stop it.

Like how do I stop myself from sleep talking when I don't have the slightest idea of how or why I sleep talk in the first place but from the information I gathered, it could be as a result of stress and that I'm currently working on. Hopefully I don't blabber out important things or valuable secrets in the process.

These two are my most challenging habits yet. They maybe proving a little trying but I confidently believe that if I were to put in more effort and be intentional about it I might just realized that there aren't so difficult after all.
I guess that's why one's habit determines your success story. Stopping a bad habit and starting a good habit are two very challenging and important things but sadly often overlooked.

Writing this, I feel a certain kind of surge. Maybe I could really be intentional about this habits and quit them for good. Not that they are extremely terrible, like how bad is chewing your nails and sleep talking?
But I need to proof to myself that I'm in charge and responsible for every action I take and I change everything I want. Working on quitting some bad habits and starting some new ones.

Gosh! Can't believe I was just chewing my nails just now! Lol

Thank you @boylikegirl for this topic. I am inviting my friends; @uduak3287 , @basil20 and @spanky-dollar to participate.

   Thanks for reading my post.
Sort:  

Hehehe...
you chew your nails? How come I've never realised this . Seems I'll start looking closer.

Well we both share the same bad habits, believe me they would go away eventually.

LoL..
I still hope they go away though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62585.78
ETH 3013.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49