Contest: The one thing I regret the most

in Boylikegirl Clublast year (edited)
Introduction

handsome-sensitive-man-portrait_23-2149509851.webp
Source

That bitter feeling of disappointment we as humans feel over something or that one has done or failed to do is termed regret. Every human has his or her own share of regret and this day 25th march 2017, shall remain evergreen in my memory. I was plagued with guilt and anger .......just read on

My Greatest Regret

tired-african-american-man-sits-bench-outside_8353-5308.webp
Source
I remember vividly, it was during the first term of my Second Senior Secondary year (SS2) in high school, I was well prepared for the subject which was Chemistry; as it was my favourite. I read hard and I came to school early that day and I met my friends studying together, I decided to join them (I usually don't do this).

One of the complained on having issues with solving certain questions on gas laws. I tore a sheet of paper, and showed him the step by step process. I also did other little calculations on that peice of paper. The invigilators trooped into our supposed exams venue and ordered us to rearrange ourselves as we were already behind time.

We all did, and started the exams few minutes later. The exams was easy to me and coincidentally, the same calculations I showed my friend earlier on just repeated itself, I was excited. But things turned sour when the friend I helped was caught with a peice of paper and it turned out to be the paper I used to teach him earlier. Well, I tried to brave up as I reasoned I was not the one who was caught with the paper so all blames on him.

It wasn't long before I heard my name being called, I tidied my exams sheets and went to the head table. When I arrived I was asked why I did what I did. I was confused and silent as I could find no words to prove my innocence. I looked at my friend expecting him to say something that would absolve me from the panels allegations but he did not even speak a word. I groaned in my heart and wished I never met him. We were handed over to the disciplinary committee to be flogged in front of the whole school. During the closing period, the sound of the school bell made me want to faint.

As the school summoning bell was only sounded after closing period to signify and important happening in school. All students rushed to the chapel. I went there too with a heavy heart praying it was something else that was to be said.....

I heard the guy's name and later my name and we were labeled as theives who would not want to keep the school's standard of zero malpractice and we were used to set an example to other defaulters. We were both given 24 strokes of cane. Well I didn't cry outside, as I wanted to at least look tough, but I couldn't help it, as I rushed to the school toilet and let my anger out.

This caused me regret, I started wondering why me that never studies with someone would break that policy on this day only to get involved in something I don't want to. I regretted my inability to speak for myself, I hated my friends for not speaking for me and what I regretted the most is my good reputation going down the drain just like that.

Conclusion

angry-fastidious-young-dark-skinned-male-wearing-jersey-sweater-looking-down-having-squeamish-scornful-gaze-posing-indoors-against-gray-wall_273609-160.webp

we all have regrets

Source

We all have things we regret, I just shared mine and I think I feel a bit better and find it comical somehow. Why not share yours thanks @usoro01 for inviting me. I'll love to invite @Vudeme123, @ferrykama12 and @fersonjase
Thanks @boylikegirlclub for this opportunity.

Love y'all
Adiós

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66