Incorporating Blockchain system into Electoral process; my thought.

in Steem Alliancelast year

InShot_20230720_151735625-02.jpeg

Hello friends, trust you're doing well today, welcome back to my blog. I trust you enjoyed the last topic we discussed. Anyways we've got something new to discuss today. It actually something that ran through my thought and I felt like it will be fine if I pen it down.

It about blockchain and how it can affect political election positively . Don't mind me I was just thinking if we could incorporate blockchain into electoral processes. Well you wouldn't blame me for been wild with my thoughts.

If you live in the Africa continent where election can be rigged even before your very eyes and in the broad day light, you would understand better. I personally feel if the blockchain system can be incorporated into our electoral process, the rate at which election results is manipulated will be curbed. Moreso election will be credible and fair enough.


What is blockchain

In a lay man's language, Blockchain can be defined as a digital ledger that stores up information i.e transaction, in such a way and manner that it is transparent, immutable and accurate.
I had to fine-tune my definition In such a way that it fits into the context in which this write up is designed.

So pardon me if I didn't define it the way you would have loved to have it defined... either ways, the definition is valid. Blockchain is a compendium of information or transactions recorded on the chain and it has so many benefit which I feel can positively influence electoral processes especially in Africa.

I can't really tell if the use of blockchain has been adopted by most advance countries for election. Anyway, it's not to late to hop into it. Let me quickly define electoral process and then see how we can proceed from there.


What is an Election

From the political stand point, an election is the process of choosing an individual(s) to represent a people's Interest in government. I think this definition is quite simple as well. Election is done in most countries of the world, every political office is being given out by means of election in a democratic environment.

photo-1540910419892-4a36d2c3266c.jpeg

Unsplash

So people come together to make their choice by means of voting especially in countries where democracy is practiced. I mean they choose by voting for the candidate they deem good for them and would represent their Interest well.


The Challenge

The challenge we face today is the fact that the electoral process is usually being manipulated such that the people's votes are influenced by some influential folks to the end that the vote do not count or is being diverted even though the electorate ensured they casted their vote wisely. I have seen this happen over and over in most African countries.

pexels-photo-7103148.jpeg

pexels.com

The last one we experienced in Nigeria in the just concluded election, it was jaw-breaking. It didn't seem do go down well with an average Nigerian, it was obvious something wasn't right from the INEC quaters. It seems to us that something was manipulated from the back end of the site set up to ensure transparency in the electoral process.

This is what actually gave birth to this topic I put up today. I have concluded in my mind that blockchain system is actually the way out.The Blockchain system has a lot of advantages that can help curtail this dubious act by most influential African leaders.

Am sorry I had to keep making reference to Africa, corruption exist everywhere, people bypass systems even in most developed countries but the fact is that, the level of corruption when it comes to politics in Africa is quite alarming. Corruption can be done in broad day light because we lack what it takes to ensure transparency.

I believe I've been to lay a solid foundation for what I will be discussing in my next post. How that blockchain will fix the issue of manipulations and lack of transparency in electoral process.
We would definately be exploring the different features of a blockchain and how it can influence election thereby giving us a credible,free and fair election.


I will love to wrap it up here so I don't make my line of thought unnecessarily long solely for the sake of comprehension. Free free to share with me your thought on this topic. I will be in the comment session. Thanks for your time. Gracias!



Disclaimer: This post is made as an education and not investment advice. Digital asset prices are subject to change. All forms of crypto investment have a high risk. I am not a financial advisor, before jumping to any conclusions in this matter please do your own research and consult a financial advisor.


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  
 last year 

Dear @lhorgic ,

We appreciate your active participation and contributions to our community. To ensure a positive environment for all members, we have implemented a set of guidelines to maintain respectful and constructive discussions while upholding community guidelines.



  • Review:
    Africa's corruption didn't start today and I understand why you made use of Africa as an example.
    Please increase the quality of your post or better still you should have given valuable points in which the blockchain affects election.


Now Engage, Connect, and Inspire Each Other to Reach New heights.

Thank You.

Banner.png

@jueco, thanks for the review ...well I want to believe you just glanced through the post...if not You should have see this

I believe I've been to lay a solid foundation for what I will be discussing in my next post. How that blockchain will fix the issue of manipulations and lack of transparency in electoral process.

...Exactly what you are recommending now. You will get it all in full. So relax my brother...and thanks once again.😊

 last year 

I didn't just glance through your post my brother, I read it but then I couldn't find what I expected, what you wrote was not inline with your topic.

You only explained what a blockchain is and what an election is.

I expected you to at least give us a taste of what we should expect, make us anticipate, capture our interest.

I hope you understand 😊
Either ways, I am expecting the main deal 😀

Oh okay, that was a wrong assumption on my path then...alright wait for the real deal. Thanks for the engagement🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42