Video, The First Load On My Garden Railroad

in Steemithobby3 years ago

Hello, steemians!

Some of the followers of my page may have noticed in my garden related posts that I have a railroad running through my garden. This is a 7-1/5 inch gauge railroad that I built through the garden for hauling things such as bags of garden soil, and other heavy things such as construction materials for my greenhouse patio project that I worked on last summer. I also use it sometimes for hauling firewood for my fire pit in the yard. I also use it just for fun. I only have 1 railroad car, a flatcar that I use for hauling things, and also to ride on for the fun of it.

My railroad would be considered a "minimal gauge" railroad. A minimal gauge railroad is defined as a railroad of less than 15 inch gauge that is used to do real work. There are many 7-1/4 inch and 7-1/2 inch gauge railroads that are miniature scale railroads. They can do actual work, but the locomotives and cars are all miniature versions of full size equipment. With a minimal gauge railroad, the equipment is usually much larger and is built to do real work.

Working on this railroad has been one of my hobbies for several years. The railroad used to be located in a different area of the back yard, but it wasn't very useful where it used to be, so I decided to move it to the garden to get more use from it. I spent the entire summer working on the railroad when I had the time for it. The garden railroad now runs from by the greenhouse through the garden and out to the back garden gate by the alley. I built it that way so that I could unload stuff from my vehicle right onto the flatcar. That makes it easier to move the stuff up to the greenhouse. I could move the stuff with a wheelbarrow, but it's more fun to move it with the railroad. Also, a wheelbarrow can get quite heavy to move when it's loaded with stuff.

The railroad was usable by the middle of May, but it was far from finished. I was able to use the railroad to move bags of potting soil for the greenhouse in the middle of May. I made a video of moving the bags of potting soil from the alley to the greenhouse and uploaded it to my youtube channel. I made the video back in the middle of May, but didn't get it edited and uploaded to my channel until October. The raw video sat on my computer for about 5 months before I found a free video editing software program to use for editing videos.

Here is the video. At the time of this video, I was still having trouble with the flatcar staying on the rails on the big curve, so I was being extra careful going around the curve. I later got that problem taken care of with more work on the railroad.

I hope you found my video interesting! Thanks for watching!

amber_yooper.png

steeming on.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39