SteemFoods X Steemit Engagement Challenge Contest 2️⃣ | Who Is Your Favorite Chef 🧑‍🍳 in Your Family?| @sikan-eyen

in SteemFoods2 years ago

IMG_20220507_134137_8~2.jpg
a yummy tray of healthy goodness

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPEc2hVa8jYySURjVfzfKHi9QkrCrALiBDZRLqHgpgoEbbtNEaujM6gfBWLGK1pyygisKvDPwTU.png

Hello food lovers,

Hello @steemitfoods,

Hello @steemfoods commumity,

How y'll doing?

This is my sumptuous entry into the Steem Foods challenge week 2, under the umbrella of the Steemit Emgagement Challenge on the theme:
WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE CHEF IN YOUR FAMILY ?



In my family, i am the favorite chef in my family.
So now, with every aroma of pride, and a pinch of humility i say meet Chef @sikan-eyen.



Cooking has got me on a label, i mean, it is something i have always enjoyed doing either as a hobby or as a chore. Now let me do a flashback during my 400L in the University when i partook in a faculty cooking competition where different meals were selected for each departments. My department Science Education was tagged with 'Egusi soup' (melon) soup.

Dear, steemit foods lovers, of course i tried my best, putting all my culinary skills into play and out of 6 departments, i came second.... good try eh?

Screenshot_2016-07-28-18-03-18.png
this was way back 2016, i'm glad i saved this screenshot

I feel genuinely fulfilled and in a happy place whenever i am cooking, and the smell of nuts and mixed spices takes my breathe away.
So in my home, i prepare most of the meals and they are always a hundred percent delicious such that cooking has been semi-permanently been assigned to me, LOL.

For my cooking techniques, i like preparing all materials / ingredients for cooking aside before setting out for the actual process, so that i just get to time appropriately and do the additions promptly.


For this entry today, i am going to be sharing with you all my favorite dish and one other recipe, keep your eyes glued.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPEc2hVa8jYySURjVfzfKHi9QkrCrALiBDZRLqHgpgoEbbtNEaujM6gfBWLGK1pyygisKvDPwTU.png

My favorite meal is the dish one would have for breakfast; Fried eggs/ bread & tea / fruits.

I love this dish so much and i have it 4.9 on a a scale of 1- 5 mornings.


Ingredients (for one serving)


🥄Raw eggs
🔪onion
🥄vegetable oil
🔪fresh pepper
🥄seasoning
🔪salt to taste
🥄curry powder

IMG_20220507_124734_7.jpg


Steps


Wash the skin of your raw eggs to take off any dirt or bacteria, and break into a shallow plate with base.

• Slice your onion into the mixture.

• Add your sliced/ grinded fresh pepper.

• Add your seasoning and salt.

• Add a pinch of curry powder.

IMG_20220507_131821_0.jpg

• Whisk evenly.


• Set a pot / pan on heat to dry.

• Pour in little vegetable oil, when hot.

• Pour in the mixture and allow to spread evenly.

• Allow for a minute to cook, then turn over the other side.

• Your fried eggs is ready.

IMG_20220507_132543_1.jpg

IMG_20220507_132712_3.jpg

MEET YOUR CHEF

IMG_20220507_143206_8.jpg


Extras


A cup of lipton tea is made, coconut bread is prepared, and orange is used as appetizer.


IMG_20220507_134226_6.jpg
i know you want it

Well, it was quite a moment of hunger as i devoured this tray before remembering my writing tag, LOL.

IMG_20220507_142937_4.jpg

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPEc2hVa8jYySURjVfzfKHi9QkrCrALiBDZRLqHgpgoEbbtNEaujM6gfBWLGK1pyygisKvDPwTU.png

My second recipe


My second recipe for you is an African meal (Nigerian precisely).

It is a soup called, 'Efere etidot' in ibibio my dialet, 'Onugbu soup' in igbo and 'bitterleaf soup in english'

The bitterleaf plant has many medicinal benefits, check my post i wrote sometime on it here :

Weekly Contest | THE BITTERLEAF PLANT |#Club5050


Ingredients (family size)


🥄 Squeezed bitterleaf
🔪Waterleaf
🥄 Protein
🔪 Dry fish
🔪 Stock fish
🥄 Perewinkle (shelled)
🔪 Seasoning cubes
🥄 Salt to taste
🔪 One large onion
🥄 Crayfish
🔪 Fresh pepper
🥄 Palm oil
🔪 Grinded melon as thickener

PhotoCollage_1651438405884.png

PhotoCollage_1651440472995.png

PhotoCollage_1651440072249.png


Steps


Rewash your squeezed bitterleaf to reduce bitterness.

• Wash protein and simmer.

• Prepare fish and stockfish and add to stock water.

• Wash cut perewinkle thoroughly to eliminate sand.

• Wash and cut waterleaf into bits.

• Set cooking pot on heat, add stock, seasoning, fresh pepper, crayfish and salt pinch.

• Allow to steam for 10 minutes.

• Add palm oil, then add your washed perewinkle.

• Add melon to thicken and cover.

• Now pour in your sliced waterleaf, leave for 5 minutes.

• Put your squeezed bitterleaf, taste.

• Your soup is ready.

IMG_20220501_195910_2.jpg


Enjoy this meal with garri or fufu and you are good to go.

IMG_20220501_195844_5.jpg

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPEc2hVa8jYySURjVfzfKHi9QkrCrALiBDZRLqHgpgoEbbtNEaujM6gfBWLGK1pyygisKvDPwTU.png

BON APETITE !!

10% BENEFICIARY SET TO @sf-charity account TO SUPPORT & CONTRIBUTE TO THE COMMUNITY WITH WHATSOEVER SUPPORT I GET.

I invite friends to participate:

@pato84
@steemtopus
@mesola
@wase1234
@ubongudofot

Sort:  

Just kept smiling our humble chef. From your presentation alone shows how passionate you are about cooking and I will try one of your recipe one of these days.
Best wishes

I'm all smiles already, please do try them out, thank you.

 2 years ago 

Felicidades por ser tu propio Chef favorito y por ese segundo lugar que obtuviste en la universidad, muy merecido, también soy de las que alisto todo antes de empezar a cocinar, mu buena publicación.

Saludos y suerte.

Me alegra que tengamos algo en común, cocinar es divertido y emocionante porque puedes explorar diferentes comidas y recetas para ti solo. Gracias por tu alegría, espero verte por aquí.

with every aroma of pride, and a pinch of humility i say meet Chef @sikan-eyen.

This world play is gold.

When am I enjoying your meal na?

Funny you...hahahaha, my meal?? Hurry i'd have a portion reserved.

#wink

There are cooks and there are cooks. You cooking is another level entirely. I salute you my dear @sikan-eyen. Please I beg you send me some of the bitterleaf soup before the saliva in my mouth dried up.

All the best in this contest.

Your hyping got me all out of this world.

Thank yo so much @tmighty, and please take in the saliva 😁😁.

I'd be looking forward to your entry where you get to show us your special recipes, good luck!

You really have good talent for cooking until you were recognized in amongst a departmental competition. It's little but still very big

I've never tried this method of cooking bitterleaf soup before

Thanks for the detailed recipe
Will try this one day

Small wins count so much dear, i was confident i would do well then, and i didn't disappoint, i made my department happy.

You definitely should try this recipe someday.

Bye.👍🏽

I have never being a fan of bitter leaf, though a friend told me sometime ago that bitter leaf gives a sweet feeling, when you finish eating it and take a chilled water. I will give it a trial as your dish looks appetizing and catching. Weldon great chef.

@merci26 that is so right!
Your friend is such a legend.
You should try the simple experiment by giving this menu a try, it's good food for your body.

Have a good night.

The food is really yummy 😋 honestly your combination is exquisite but I haven't tasted it before. Well from your explanation is very simple to cook and will work on it. Thanks, dear.

Yes, it is simple and easy, just follow the steps. I hope you get to try out this recipe sometime. Thanks.

 2 years ago 

Wow wow 😳 you are really a lovely chef, i have passion for bitter leaf soup 🍲 it use to be very yummy and it's so healthy.
It contains so many vitamins that boasts the body.

So so correct✅.
Bitterleaf is a very healthy vegetable, alot of people do not know this.

Great cooking chef! Keep up the good work.
Good luck for the contest.

Thank you for your support.... ALWAYS 😍

The pleasure is mine as.. ALWAYS 🌼

A yummy tray of healthy goodness

I couldn't have agree any less my dear friend. Not just from your way with words but also from the way it looks, so presentable and adorable 😋

Ingredients (family size)
🥄 Squeezed bitterleaf
🔪Waterleaf
🥄 Protein
🔪 Dry fish
🔪 Stock fish
🥄 Perewinkle (shelled)
🔪 Seasoning cubes
🥄 Salt to taste
🔪 One large onion
🥄 Crayfish
🔪 Fresh pepper
🥄 Palm oil
🔪 Grinded melon as thickener

You're such a life saver as I will follow your recipe and measurement to try it out.
Thanks for sharing your secrets with us🌹

I hope I can be able to taste chef @Sikan-eyen delicacies when you invite me over to Nigeria.

Hahahahaha dear @monjuapollonia sometimes i just have my way with these words, i think its fun.
Thank you for your palatable compliments, i do hope that you make out time to try the recipe soonest, and yes i look forward to having you taste my meals.

Hearty cheers !!!

Heart cheers darling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94