SteemFoods: Nilusak nga Camote Espesyal || Purple Sweet Potato Delight

in SteemFoods3 years ago

Hello foodies! How are you doing all today? I hope you have a wonderful Monday! Kumusta, kumusta, kumusta? Greetings to you all!

C360_2018-02-10-20-26-59-636.jpg

For today, I will be sharing a Cebuano dessert that I got the time to prepare last Saturday. It's main ingredient is camote or sweet potatoes. I love sweet potatoes, especially the purple ones. I call my dessert as Nilusak nga Camote Espesyal. Nilusak in Cebuano means mashed. And what makes this dessert extra special is because of the additional ingredients I added to my mashed camote.

Saturday is my favorite day. You get to decide what time are you gonna get up from bed, what time to eat your meals, when to take a shower, etc. It's a cozy day spending time at home with my husband @hulyootso and Jeju, my ever playful dog.

Last Saturday afternoon, I got the chance to visit our local market or merkado as we call it. Saturdays are tabo or market days. All the produce from our place which are seafoods (Lapu-Lapu City or Opon is an island apart from Cebu province, known as the Historic Resort City) and also harvests from the Northern and Southern municipalities of Cebu are all laid out, ready to be bought and brought to different households.

Purple sweet potatoes or camote are one of my favorite food on Earth! You can plainly boil it, fry it with brown sugar, I've also tried baking it for my cupcakes. I prepared a dessert or snack which I called: Nilusak nga Camote Espesyal or Purple Sweet Potato Delight.

The ingredients I used for my dish are the following:
1 1/2 kilos of purple sweet potato or camote, boiled and mashed or grated
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoon butter/margarine
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup roasted peanuts, ground
1 cup fruit cocktail
1/3 cup condensed milk

Here's how I made it:

  1. Boil camote or purple sweet potatoes with their skin on. Peel. For this recipe, I used 1 1/2 kilos of sweet potatoes.
    IMG_20180210_182051.jpg

  2. Grate or mash sweet potatoes.
    IMG_20180210_182757.jpg

  3. Add 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 2 tablespoons of margarine/butter and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Mix.
    IMG_20180210_183510.jpg

  4. Using your mortar and pestle, coarsely ground 1/2 cup of roasted peanuts.
    IMG_20180210_183831.jpg

  5. Add 1 cup fruit cocktail, ground peanuts and 1/3 cup of condensed milk. Mix them all together.
    IMG_20180210_184254.jpg

  6. Place in a tray or molder. Top with ground nuts and refrigerate for an hour.
    IMG_20180210_185245.jpg

Serve with some extra ground nuts and fruit cocktail. Bon appetit!

C360_2018-02-10-20-28-45-871.jpg

To food! Because food is love on a plate.

Always,
Rose

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81Lv5GaqnCKyjhbaXDXF6btafyu2DMNkxJRWBbJHad5F57zAj7eGwfFgpy9mw8yu3xKgve14NES21nKSrTYBQsyQ.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

patilawa tawon mi madam

 3 years ago 

Hi mam @kyrie1234 mghimo lng nya ko balik mam hehe nhurot na

Dear @rosevillariasa, I would like to propose you as one of SteemSEA MOD for the Philippines, with your availability to be one of steemSEA MOD we can provide better assistance to our fellow Filipinos, Please confirm your willingness into my discord or comment here

If you need to discuss further more about the MOD in STEEMSEA you can chat with me on the discord channel. Thank you very much

Best Regards

 3 years ago 

Hello sir @el-nailul I would like to express my gratitude for your unending help to my fellow Filipinos, for always being one of my team's greatest support, thank you so much for your big heart to all Filipinos, sir.

I am deeply honored and humbled for considering me as one of the SteemSEA MODs, sir. The community has one of the most beautiful goals I have personally witnessed in Steemit, giving back to the community and helping others who are really in dire need especially their daily needs of food, education, health and shelter. As much as I'd like to join your team as one of the MODs, I am afraid that I couldn't keep up with my busy schedule as a public school teacher here in the Philippines, sir. I am deeply saddened for having made this decision. I am very sorry, sir. But always know sir sincerely, that no matter who you will choose and consider as Steem SEA MOD for the Philippines, you and the team will always have my full support sir. I will continue with my humble works in helping out my students, their families, my neighbors in Mactan, the people in Olango Island and everyone who needs my help.

As an update, since I wasn't able to have my Discord account and I couldn't message you, with your help and our dear curators, together with my co-teachers, we are going back to Olango this May 30. We are going to distribute slippers to children, snacks and clothes for them. We are also planning to let the children write their wishes and we will do the best that we can to grant their wishes little by little when we come back again. Furthermore, we are going back to visit Ruellan, the 19-year old boy who is really sick and is forever stuck on his bed.

I will update you sir as soon as our outreach activity is made into fruition.

Respectfully,
@rosevillariasa

Especailly for Ruellan, could you give me the calculation of the wheelchair price in your place?. We may help him to provide one to him, but I need to know in SBD, eventhough not in one go, but we could do it within 2 weeks.

one, more thing, is that possible for @traderpaw to be a MOD for SteemSea because from the beginning, i just knew only both of you who has close contact with me, so then as the Community Developement Program Coordinator, I need to consider carefully before deciding new MOD for SEA Community. Besides, all members need to understand that steemSEA is not only Indonesian

You may be able to advise on this regard @rosevillariasa

thank in advance

 3 years ago 

That is very kind of you sir @el-nailul. I will have to check the wheelchair price in SBD in our place sir. I'm sure Ruellan and his family will be very happy then sir. I will update you as soon as I get the price sir.

And as for @traderpaw I will ask for her willingness on this regard sir.

Thank you so much for your generosity and thoughtfulness to us, Filipinos sir. I will keep you updated on our Steem SEA outreach programs.

 3 years ago (edited)

Hello sir @el-nailul I have searched Shopee, the leading online store here in the Philippines and the wheelchair costs Php 3,088 plus the shipping fee of Php 580, a total of Php 3,668. That is roughly equivalent to 9-10 SBD sir.

Screenshot_20210526-060716.jpg

Screenshot_20210526-060756.jpg

 3 years ago 

Hello again sir @el-nailul. I will have to check on Ruellan this Sunday sir. Which is more suitable for him whether a wheelchair or a stroller sir. I will give you an update on that sir. Thanks again.

 3 years ago 

Hello sir @el-nailul how are your? I pray that all is well. I am excited for your plan for Ruellan. Thank you so much for your kindness and generosity sir. I am amaze and overwhelm of your actions. God bless you more sir.

Hi @traderpaw, could you please confirm me for my prolosal for you to become one of SteemSea MOD, because we need a MOD for Philippine

thank you for your consideration

best regard

 3 years ago 

Hello sir @el-nailul,I am very happy for choosing me. Thank you so much for believing and trusting me. I am glad to accept your offer and if it will not be too much to ask from you please orient me the Do's and the Don'ts as an MOD of SteemSea Community.

That is really great to have you on the team. I am making the announcement of a new SEA MOD from the Philippines.

Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01