SteemFoods X Steemit Engagement Challenge Contest 3️⃣ | Promote Your Favorite Supermarket 🛒 | Checkers! @patjewell

in SteemFoods2 years ago



CHECKERS, Noordheuwel

Greetings Steemit friends!

It is my last challenge for the week and I left my favourite for last, my favourite supermarket, Checkers!

Shoprite Holdings Ltd is the mother company of Shoprite and Checkers. It has nearly 3,000 stores across Africa which makes them the largest supermarket retailer on the continent.

Most of my Africa friends will know Shoprite. On my side of the valley Checkers is where I shop.

What is the difference between the two?

NameDescription
ShopriteThe Group’s original and flagship brand and the biggest food retailer in Africa.
CheckersThe Checkers brand is defined by convenience, quality and freshness, and markets to affluent consumers.

Currently there are 202 Checkers supermarkets operating in three different Africa countries, South Africa, Botswana and Namibia.

Why my choice of Checkers?

Checkers is what we call a FMCG (Fast-moving consumer goods) retailer. This is where popular products, which are fast movers, are sold not only quickly but at low cost.

I visit Checkers Noordheuwel, which is the closest to me, at least once a week.

There are 5 main reasons why Checkers is my favourite supermarket;

  1. It is convenient
  2. They only stock fast moving food and beverages
  3. As the stock is fast moving it is always fresh and of good quality
  4. The cost of the products are relatively low
  5. The service is excellent!

CONVENIENCE:

Name: Checkers Noordheuwel, KRUGERSDORP, South Africa
Opening time: 08:00 am
Closing time: 20:00 pm

The Checkers the nearest to me is only 2km from home which makes it very convenient for me to shop.
Their shopping hours is 12 hours a day which is more than any other supermarket in the area.



Image Source

What I also like about Checkers is that the isles are clearly market which is convenient for shoppers. Checkers is so smart. They use English on the one side of the boards and the language most spoken in the area on the other side of the signs. The signs in Checkers Noordheuwel is therefore English on the one side and Afrikaans on the other side.

What is also nice is the ample space they have between the isles.



FAST MOVING FOOD AND BEVERAGES

When visiting Checkers I asked the floor manager which three products are the fastest moving products. In answer to my question she told me, bread, milk and sugar. These are then also the three products I will be focusing on.
Funny enough, they were also on my shopping list for the day.

My first stop – Bread



What I love about Checkers is that you have a choice between a big variety of in store, freshly baked bread and a variety of bakery bread, the Blue Ribbon etc. brands.

You can also buy the dough from them and bake your own bread at home. This dough is also excellent for making pizza’s.

My second stop – Milk



Indeed “Mooo” fresh! What I like about the dairy section is that because of the products being fast moving products the expiring date is never tomorrow as I have so often found at other supermarket but at least 7 to 10 days to come. They also cater for the cheaper as well as the more expensive brands.

My third stop – Sugar



Sugar these days are very expensive in South Africa. This due to the recent floods in the province of KwaZulu Natal where most of the sugar refineries are located.
What amazed me is that there is still a big variety of sugar to choose from when shopping at Checkers Noordheuwel.

What was nice for me today was that they had a special on one of the 2,5kg white sugar brands.

FRESHNESS AND QUALITY

The freshness and quality of the food at Checkers is excellent!
I am sure that is due to the fact that their products are fast moving.

Today I bought fresh broccoli and cauliflower as my brother had a special request for Sunday lunch.

They recently also added a Sushi bar to the store where you can sit down and have your meal or you can order it to take away.

Whenever I go to Checkers I go in the morning as the fish counter is a must stop. My husband just love their fish bites and I always make sure that the fish counter is my last stop.

RELATIVELY LOW PRICES

If you want to shop where prices are low, Checkers is the answer. They introduced their Xtra Savings card in October 2019. This card not only allows shoppers extra discounts but you also get promo alerts on your mobile phone and other additional awards.



Presenting my Xtra Savings Card

On my birthday this year I received an email from them not only to wish me but also to invite me for a fee cup of coffee.



My birthday email

From this email I could also see that I have swiped my card 145 time. This is an average of 4.8 times per month. I clear indication that I use this supermarket at least once a week.

Furthermore the average saving per month is R 282.38 (68 STEEM).

They say the proof is in the pudding so let’s put them to the test.

Item:Checkers:Pick ‘n Pay:
Sliced white breadR 16.99 (4.08 STEEM)R 17.99 (4.32 STEEM)
Milk 2LR 26.99 (6.49 STEEM)R 29.99 (7.21 STEEM)
Sugar 2,5 kgR 41.99 (10.10 STEEM)R 49.99 (12.03 STEEM)
Note:
1 Steem = 4.155998 South African Rand (ZAR)

Total purchase for the today – R 626.96 – 150.86 STEEM (excluding hubby’s cigarettes)

IMG_8289.jpg

THE SERVICE IS EXCELLENT

Checkers Noordheuwel has just received an award for client service and I am sure that tells you exactly how important service to their customers are for them.

Two things of interest to me;

  1. On Google they received a rating of 4.3 and reviews of 2,086 customers which is excellent when I compared it to the other supermarkets in my area. Pick ‘n Pay, the nearest supermarket received a 3.9 rating with 804 ratings. These two supermarkets opened at approximately the same time
  2. On the service counter where I found the trophy there is a sign reading “To all the staff!! This trophy is for all of you – thanks for helping to make this possible”. The invest in their staff and this is a huge success to their story



Checkers Noordheuwel is for sure my favourite supermarket!

Sort:  

Well done on a great review. Checkers is indeed the best value for money.

Thank you for reading my post and you reply.
Checkers is for sure taking over the market in South Africa.

Loading...

This is a great job hope u will continue with this wonderful effort and wish you the best in your Contest

Thank you for the kind words and for visiting my post! Shopping must always be a pleasure and not a burden 😊
It is appreciated!

You are welcome steemit is for us to support each other and is my responsibility to see to each everyone post to give though supportive word and I most say together must grow as far as steemit platform is concerned

You for sure have the right attitude! Don’t give up!

Checkers is quite awesome from your review, cost-effective, convenient, excellent service, and so on. See, I can't get over the freshly baked bread yet, it's quite enticing. Thanks for sharing this beautiful piece today and I wish you the best in the contest.

Bread bread bread! I cannot believe it that Marie Antoinette wanted to give cake in the place of bread when fresh warm bread is so much nicer to eat😊
Thank you for engaging with my post.
It is appreciated!

This is enough reasons for one to make checkers their favorite supermarket

It is convenient
They only stock fast moving food and beverages
As the stock is fast moving it is always fresh and of good quality
The cost of the products are relatively low
The service is excellent!

Best wishes ma

And you are back! 😊
Thank my friend! I value your support!
Checkers is the best!

Yes you are correct ShopRite is one of the popular brands when it comes to shopping center in Africa. How I which we are staying in the same region, then I will come over to share the meal with you. Nice to have you @patjewell

I just wish I bought shares in Shoprite when they listed on the stock exchange many years ago. :-)
Thank you for engaging with my post. Nice meeting you also.

Most of the supermarket close to me aren't that close. Maybe that's why I don't patronise it that much because of convince. I am loving the fresh bread that Checkers supermarket has.

I love bread! There is nothing nicer than warm fresh bread. Yummy!
Thank you for reading and engaging with my post🌼

Hi, @patjewell,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Thank you very much!

Has recibido un voto del 50% de la cuenta Comunitaria de Recreative Steem Community @hive-141434
Por haber destacado en el top 5 en el Challenge como comentarista y Creador de contenido
Felicidades!!!

image.png

Congratulations! You are in the TOP 5 of the most Engaged Steemians in the last week check the list.

You will receive extra support from @cotina, @ecosynthesizer, @hive-141434, @steemcurator03, @dsc-r2cornelll, and probably other big curators!

We are the hope!

Awh! Thank you so much for this feedback! It is a great honour to make it to the top 5 of your new engagement tool.
Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48