HOW I MAKE MY DATES SYRUP

in SteemFoods3 years ago

HOW I MAKE MY DATES SYRUP

Hello amazing foodies 😉😉. Thank you for having me in the beautiful community. I am new here and this is my first post here.

Let me give a short rundown about dates before I present my recipe.

88947D8D-C82E-45FC-B090-68B1BC90F875.jpeg

Date is a Greek word daktulos meaning fingers. They grow on dates palm tree with botanical name as Phoenix dactylifera in small clusters. They are freshest when harvested in fall and early winter. Dates are naturally very sweet and chewy. They are staple food of the Middle East. Muslims consider dates sacred and incorporate them in their diets throughout the religious fasting period of Ramadan.
Each date is about 60% to 70% sugar and so are better substitutes to sugar, candy, chocolate chips etc in baking and other uses. They are high sources of fiber which makes them healthy energy boosters .
They help fight anemia because of their high iron content.
Dates can be used as natural sweeteners. They are good sources of energy, fiber, sugar, and various sources of minerals such as calcium, iron, phosphorus, sodium, potassium, magnesium, sulfur, and zinc. Dates are also rich in vitamins such as thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, vitamin B6, folate, vitamin A.
Dates help to boost brain health, promote healthy digestion thus helping relieve constipation. Dates also help to prevent heart diseases, treat sexual dysfunction, aid bone health particularly amongst older adults. Dates help to promote healthy weight gain and natural labor in pregnant women. source

HOW I MAKE MY DATES SYRUP
I get the quantity of dates that I want to use for the syrup.
I wash carefully to avoid peeling off and wash off dirts.
I soak them over night to soften them.

705B49C7-C4B3-47AC-B0CB-668332363187.jpeg

In the morning, I use knife to cut them open and remove the seeds inside and trash.
I then blend the flesh with my blender; adding some water to aid the blending process.
I place my cheese cloth over a bowl, pour in the blended dates and squeeze out the liquid.
I place a pot on the fire, pour in the liquid and boil till the water dries up leaving only the syrup.

7F39AA58-15C0-4B1C-B6A7-AFA92902E779.jpeg

I let it cool, package and preserve in the refrigerator.
I also package the pulp and preserve in the refrigerator.

0CB95421-BAD0-425E-9045-5CD3881D8BD7.jpeg

Besides the seeds, no other part of my date is wasted. They’re all natural goodness. We use them in breakfast cereals and baking.

Dates may contribute to unhealthy weight gain and other health issues if consumed in excess as a result of their high sugar and calories content and so should be taken in moderation so as to maximize the potential health benefits.

Please, replace your sugar and other sweeteners with dates syrup or powder from today and enjoy a healthier life.

Thank you

Sort:  

Wow ..you really have a nice syrup there..
I wanna learn how to make all these stiffs (hahaha).

Seems like you grew at the north??

Best Regards

Thank you so much. Am willing to take you through. No, i didn’t grow up there. I just love trying out new things

I have learnt something new here. I will definitely look for Dates and try this at home.
Thank you for the educative recipe.
#twopercent #affable #cameroon.

Thank you so much. Am glad it’s educating.

Its educative. Nice one

Thanks for this.

Hello @nneoma08. This post is so educative. Before now, I didn't know that dates has this health benefits. Thanks so much for sharing

Thanks so much, darling. Dates are wonderful. You should try them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62186.49
ETH 2417.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56