My Kind of Korean Bibimbap 비빔밥 - Pinoy Style | SteemFoods

in SteemFoods3 years ago

As I am watching different k-dramas, It just happened that I kept on eating what they eat in the show. Just like the most people here in the Philippines, we adapt some of their famous foods and the way they eat it. Samgyeopsal is one of the common Korean food that can be seen now almost everywhere and every home of the Filipinos. Have you tried it? Its so perfect with a bottle of Soju right? Mas-issneun!

182158728_314900736903985_7120857969551061329_n.jpg

Bibimbap

Aside from Bulgogi, samgyeopsal and fishcakes, bibimbap is my favorite. This is a Korean rice dish composed of different kinds of vegetables, egg and meat. It is usually served with kimchi stew or ramyeon in restaurants, but today I will be doing it myself. And I love to share it with you guys! :)

181648060_512130829960250_4635621208409351030_n.jpg

Ingredients:

Beef
Carrots
Pechay
Red bell pepper
Bean sprout
Onion
Salt and Pepper
Rice
Egg

Most of these are in our kitchen so it is very easy guys. Now, let's jump into the preparations.

Preparation

  1. Cut the pechay into bite size and the carrots into strips.

2.Follow the red bell pepper and the onion then set it on the a plate.

3.Start boiling 2 cups of water and put a bit of salt on it. When it starts boiling, put the pechay for about 1 minute followed by the carrots and Sprout. Just let them sit until they changed color or it depends on your preference but for me, I don't like the vegetables over cooked so I'm just doing it real quick.

4.Set aside the first batch of your side dishes then start putting a bit of oil in the pan. Stir fry the bell pepper, onion, carrots and the bean sprout in a low heat. Wait until in turned tender still depending on your preference.

181903515_283780433410942_3132810744238133658_n.jpg

I like it when the bean sprout is a bit crunchy like in the Hongkong noodles so it took a while in the pan and I waited for it to turn a bit brown. While doing all the frying of the veggies, start marinating your beef coz it'll be the next and the last step of your bibimbap. Set aside all your side dishes.

182976956_2919551354990819_5252264071511354099_n.jpg

5.When you're done with all the side dishes, start with the meat. I used beef in my bibimbap and I marinated it while preparing the vegetables. In marinate I just mixed it with salt, ground pepper and a bit of oyster sauce. Also prepare a minced garlic and onion for more flavour.

Just sautee the onion and garlic with the beef and wait until its cooked and tender. It took a while before the beef was cooked but its all worth the wait when you're in front of a bowl full of magic.

Presentation/Plating

You'll feel the Korea atmosphere when you see the food looks the same with what you're seeing in the television. So for me, plating is very important since it shows the last and the end product of your work. Bibimbap is usually prepared like this, in a bowl, all of the side dishes and the meat are on top of the rice.

181580022_845226439423034_8302698769959317805_n.jpg

Start setting all the vegetables and meat on top of your bowl. I forgot to mention to prepare a sunny side up egg because it is very important. Haha! I also prepared cucumber as a side dish but I forgot to show it it you. Also, serve it with teriyaki sauce or gochujang, it is really great combination! Very easy right? It is quick to prepare and affordable!

A bowl of happiness! <3

Getting into restaurants nowadays is risky so why don't we just cook foods we crave for right? Its good getting and eating what we want by helping the world minimizing the crowd. Its safe for our family and friends so stay home my dear friends!

It an "adventure" for anybody like me who knows nothing around the kitchen but this pandemic and @steemfoods community opened up something that we might love today and in the mere future. I just discovered that creativity and ideas in food making is really fun! Jalja!

“Cooking requires confident guesswork and improvisation—experimentation and substitution, dealing with failure and uncertainty in a creative way.”
– Paul Theroux

Thank you for dropping by!
Love,
Yhien (@neihy05)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65